Yesha Council slams exclusion from Chief Rabbinate selection committee

Yesha Council head Hananel Dorani wrote a letter responding the Religious Services Ministry's decision to uphold a policy preventing representatives from the residents of Judea and Samaria from serving on the assembly that selects the Chief Rabbinate Council.
"This is a de facto boycott of the residents of Judea, Samaria and the Jordan Valley, which fuels those seeking to harm settlement rights in Israel and around the world," Dorani wrote. "We will not agree to such discrimination of our residents, who are an inseparable part of the citizens of the State of Israel."
The council is made up of a 17-man panel – 10 of whom are up for election – and is the decision-making organ of the Chief Rabbinate.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy