Habayit Hayehudi elects list for 19th Knesset

Primary results will be not be released until Wednesday, when the votes are counted.

Habayit Hayehudi votes in primaries 390 (photo credit: Lahav Harkov)
Habayit Hayehudi votes in primaries 390
(photo credit: Lahav Harkov)
Habayit Hayehudi voters took to the polls on Tuesday for the second time in as many weeks, in order to elect the party’s list for the next Knesset.
Voting opened to the party’s nearly 54,000 members from 3-10 p.m. in 168 polling places throughout the country. Habayit Hayehudi voters ranked five candidates in order of preference, out of the 14 that were running.
Voter turnout was at 50 percent.
The primary results will be released on Wednesday.
Some of the better-known candidates include MK Uri Orbach and former NRP MKs Nissan Slomianski and Gila Finkelstein. In addition, two founders of Internet hasbara organizations – Ayelet Shaked of “My Israel” and Atlanta native Jeremy Gimpel of TheLandofIsrael.com – are running for seats on the Habayit Hayehudi list, as is Beersheba Deputy Mayor Avi Wertzman.
Earlier this week, five primary candidates – Orbach, Finkelstein, Wertzman, Doron Danino and Shuli Mualem – sued the party in the Tel Aviv District Court to repeal a Habayit Hayehudi court decision to keep the fifth spot for candidates under 40 even if a woman who fits that criteria is elected in the fourth spot, which is saved for female candidates.
Shaked is the only female under 40 in the primary. She is running for the fourth spot, against Finkelstein and Mualem.
Click for full JPost coverage
Click for full JPost coverage
According to the court’s verdict, candidates should wait until after the primary on Tuesday to see if Shaked makes it to the second, third or fourth spot. If she does, they can petition the party court and five judges must preside over the hearing.