Switzerland joins European open borders area

Switzerland ended systematic passport controls at most of its land borders Friday, becoming the 25th nation to join Europe's continent-wide zone of open frontiers. Swiss accession to the borderless travel zone at midnight closed a gap at the heart of an area that stretches from the Arctic Ocean to the Mediterranean. The move will allow travelers to freely cross Switzerland's land borders from France, Germany, Italy or Austria, all of which have implemented the so-called Schengen agreement.