Extraordinary immigrants to be recognized by Nefesh B'Nefesh

This is the 5th year the prizes have been distributed to immigrants who have contributed remarkably to the State of Israel.

A group of new olim pose after arriving in Israel (photo credit: SHAHAR AZRAN)
A group of new olim pose after arriving in Israel
(photo credit: SHAHAR AZRAN)
Nefesh B’Nefesh opened its 2018 nominations for the Sylvan Adams Bonei Zion prize on Monday.
The prestigious award, which was established by Nefesh B’Nefesh in September 2013, formally recognizes the achievements of outstanding immigrants from English-speaking countries and their contribution to the State of Israel.
It will be awarded to seven extraordinary immigrants in different categories who have made a major impact on developing the State of Israel.
The prize recognizes extraordinary immigrants in several categories who represent the future of the State of Israel and have dedicated their lives to strengthening the country. A prestigious panel of committee members will select the winners from the following categories: Science and Medicine, Community and Non-Profit, Education, Israel Advocacy, Arts, Culture and Sports and Young Leadership. In addition, a lifetime achievement award will be bestowed upon deserving immigrants.
“Each year we are amazed by the breadth and quality of the English-speaking olim [immigrants] who have had an enormous impact on the development of Israel,” said Nefesh B’Nefesh co-founder and executive director Rabbi Yehoshua Fass.
“We are grateful to Sylvan Adams on his partnership and generosity in the pursuit to celebrate the vital contribution and impact of Anglo olim on the Jewish State.”
Among some of last year’s honorees were Professor Benjamin W. Corn, Head of the Institute of Radiotherapy at Ichilov Hospital in the field of Science & Medicine; Beth Steinberg, director and co-founder of Shutaf Inclusion Programs and artistic director and co-founder of Theater in the Rough, in the field of Community and Non-Profit; Rabbi Chaim Brovender, founder and Rosh Yeshiva of WebYeshiva.org for the field of Education; and Yoram Raanan, Contemporary Jewish Artist in the field of Culture, Art and Sports.
The Lifetime Achievement Awards were bestowed upon Professor Alice Shalvi for decades of inspiring contributions in shaping the status of women in Israel through education and advocacy and Professor Eliezer Jaffe for his accomplishments in nonprofit and philanthropic giving, raising awareness and support for Israeli citizen in need. Eligible candidates for the prize must have made Aliyah from an English-speaking country, including Australia, Canada, New Zealand, South Africa, UK, and the USA.
The deadline for submitting nominations is January 1, 2018. The prize recipients will be announced on May 1, 2018.