Calissical Review: Music for Violin and Orchestra

Review of German composer Rudi Stephan’s 'Music for Violin and Orchestra' (1911) presented Dec. 5 by the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra.

December 16, 2012 21:16
Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

Israel Philharmonic Orchestra 311. (photo credit: Reuters)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


The largely forgotten German composer Rudi Stephan’s Music for Violin and Orchestra (1911) was the 20th century work presented by the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra in a first performance last week.

The work’s solo part is melodious, mostly listener- friendly, with numerous changing themes, interspersed with technically demanding virtuosic passages. Its very personal musical language is remarkably different from the styles current in its time, contributing value-added interest to the work.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

Soloist Ray Chen performed with utmost sensitivity, an appealingly pure tone in the melody lines, and impressive though unostentatious virtuosity in the technically showy passages.

Safely back to the Romantics, conductor Kirill Petrenko displayed superb command of the orchestral tone colors that abound in Mahler’s Fourth Symphony. Subtle but noticeable rhythmic flexibility, delicate nuances of dynamics and clear-cut articulation injected breathing life into the music, emphasizing the work’s forceful outbursts of energy.

In the final movement, Maria Bengtsson’s clear soprano, soft, caressing and effortless even on the highest notes, charmingly captured the naive, childlike intonation of “Heavenly Life” Mahler is reported to have intended.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Sarah Silverman
August 26, 2014
Jewish women take home gold at 2014 Emmys