Classical Review: Israel Philharmonic Orchestra

Jerusalem Theater, November 11.

November 13, 2011 22:36
1 minute read.

CONDUCTOR KAZUSHI ONO 311. (photo credit: Courtesy of Eisuke Miyoshi)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

The pièce de résistance in the Israel Philharmonic Orchestra’s matinee concert last week was Shostakovich’s Cello Concerto No. 1. Although a 20th-century work (1959), it is rather rarely performed, and already sounds almost classic with its clearly chiselled melodic motifs and communicative emotional appeal.

Argentinian soloist Sol Gabetta seems inclined to a meditative, lyric approach that makes her performance appear more mature than her age would suggest. The slow movement and, even more so, the Cadenza, were given a melancholic lament-like character, though the technically demanding passages were rendered with brilliant virtuosity.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

The opening and concluding angular, aggressive motifs were treated with a soft-pedalling attitude, refraining from extrovert tempestuous outbursts.

The concerto was sandwiched in between two French impressionist works – somewhat much of a very good thing: Debussy’s Prelude a l’apres-midi d’un Faune (1894) and Ravel’s Daphnis and Chloe (1911).

Composed long before the World Wars, they can hardly be taken as signs of escapism from the horror of the wars, contrary to what moderator Astrit Baltsan would have her credulous audience believe.

Conducted by Kazushi Ono, the Prelude started with an exquisitely soft flute solo, more so than what one is accustomed to hearing usually.

Ono highlights the works’ abundant delicate instrumental tone colors with loving care. Displaying an authoritative command of the orchestral forces, he led the Ravel Suite to an exciting conclusion.

Related Content

Sarah Silverman
August 26, 2014
Jewish women take home gold at 2014 Emmys