Committee approves bill to apply Israeli law to Israeli West Bank residents

November 9, 2014 14:40

The Ministerial Committee on Legislation on Sunday approved a bill that would apply Israeli law to Israeli West Bank residents.

The new legislation was proposed by Land of Israel Caucus heads Yariv Levin (Likud) and Orit Struck (Bayit Yehudi), and was co-sponsored by coalition chairman Ze’ev Elkin (Likud), Bayit Yehudi faction chairwoman Ayelet Shaked, Shas faction chairman Avraham Michaeli, Knesset Law, Constitution and Justice Committee chairman David Rotem (Yisrael Beytenu) and United Torah Judaism faction chairman Menahem Eliezer Moses.According to Levin and Struck, the bill would not change the status of the land in the West Bank and does not violate the tenets of international law by which Israel behaves in the area.

Related Content

Breaking news
September 19, 2019
Canada's Trudeau apologizes for dressing up in brownface in 2001