Haifa’s Sammy Ofer Stadium finalist for award

January 28, 2015 04:26
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Haifa’s new Sammy Ofer Stadium is among 32 sports facilities around the world nominated to Stadium of the Year award for 2014. The current edition covers 32 major stadiums opened in 2014 in 20 countries. Eight are located in Brazil (which staged last summer’s World Cup), three in the USA, while Hungary and Poland each have two nominees.

“The stadium’s setting between hills and the sea is already special. But with its golden scales, Sammy Ofer Stadium is a worthy landmark for Haifa and a prime location for football in Israel,” says Grzegorz Kaliciak, founder of StadiumDB.com, organizer of the competition.

Now stadium enthusiasts from around the world can vote to select their Stadium of the Year. Each Internet user may vote only once by selecting his or her five most favorite stadia. Within the first four days over 25,000 people have placed their votes at www.stadiumdb.com. The vote is open until February 17.

A separate vote is being held by the competition Jury, consisting of famous architects from five countries. Bob van Bebber and Mike Bell from South Africa designed stadiums of the 2010 World Cup, while Bruno Campos from Brazil was one of the architects of the 2014 World Cup in Brazil. The Jury also consists of John Bontinck (Belgium), Bryan Roe (Ireland) and Serban Tiganas (Romania).

The Public Vote and Jury Vote awards will both be announced on February 19.

Related Content

Breaking news
August 20, 2018
King of Morocco appoints new minister for economy and finance