Katz Award recipients announced

May 11, 2014 17:55
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


The winners of the Katz Award for 2014 have been announced and will be presented with their awards at a special ceremony in Jerusalem on May 27.
The Katz Award was established in 1975 by Marcos and Adina Katz and is bestowed upon individuals and enterprises engaged in the application of Halacha, or Jewish law, in modern life, by their written works and practical endeavors.
The four recipients of the award are Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks, Rabbi Zvi (Herschel) Schachter, Rabbi Yehoshua Yeshaya Neuwirth z"l and Rabbi Zalman Nehemiah Goldberg.
They were selected by a committee compromising former Chief Rabbi of Israel Rabbi Yisrael Meir Lau, renowned Talmudic scholar Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz, and Hebrew University President Professor Menahem Ben-Sasson. 
"These are four of the great minds of the Jewish world. Their contribution to the application of Halacha in modern life will last for generations to come,” said Marcos Katz, who established the award in 1975.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Breaking news
June 25, 2019
European stocks hit by Iran tensions


Cookie Settings