Obziler named new Israel Fed Cup captain

October 4, 2015 05:26


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Tzipi Obziler was appointed as Israel’s new Fed Cup captain on Friday, replacing Amos Mansdorf, who leaves the post after three years in charge.

The 42-year-old, regarded as one of Israel’s all-time greatest players, retired six years ago after a remarkable 21-year playing career.

Mansdorf, who will continue coaching Israel’s juniors, couldn’t lead the national team back to the Fed Cup World Group II playoffs, in which it last played in 2009 in what was Obziler’s final appearance for the team.

Obziler only made her breakthrough in her mid-30’s, entering the top-100 for the first time in her career in 2007 before reaching a career-best ranking of number 75. That same year, Obziler also played a key role in helping Israel’s Fed Cup team to the World Group for the first time, which includes only the world’s top eight nations.

Israel will host next year’s Europe/Africa Zone Group I matches in Eilat, which also hosted the tournament between 2011 and 2013. Great Britain, Croatia and Belgium are among the 14 teams that will play in Eilat next year for two places in the playoffs.

Related Content

Breaking news
August 17, 2018
U.S. says no rebuilding funds for Syria until peace talks underway