Spielberg and Streisand on list of 17 to receive Presidential Medal of Freedom

Obama: These men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans.

November 17, 2015 20:41
1 minute read.

spielberg. (photo credit: REUTERS)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Jewish celebrities Steven Spielberg, Barbra Streisand, Stephen Sondheim and Itzhak Perlman will receive the Presidential Medal of Freedom, the highest civilian award given by the United States.

They will be among 17 Americans “who have made especially meritorious contributions to the security or national interests of the United States, to world peace, or to cultural or other significant public or private endeavors” to receive the award, the White House announced last week.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

President Barack Obama, saying he looked forward to presenting the “distinguished” group with the award, said in a White House news release, “These men and women have enriched our lives and helped define our shared experience as Americans.”

Spielberg has won three Academy Awards for his work on films such as “Schindler’s List” and “Saving Private Ryan.” Streisand has won two Academy Awards and 10 Grammy Awards, including a Lifetime Achievement Award.

Sondheim’s eight Tony Awards are the most for a composer. He has also won an Academy Award, eight Grammys, a Pulitzer Prize and a Laurence Olivier Award.

Perlman, who grew up in Israel, has won 15 Grammys and is considered to be among the greatest violinists in the world.

Some of the non-Jewish recipients of the award will include baseball legends Willie Mays and the late Yogi Berra, songwriter James Taylor and singer Gloria Estefan.


Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

November 15, 2018
New lawsuit claims B&H discriminates against non-Jewish employees