Netanyahu backtracks on Likud races

PM decides to delay races for the Likud’s institutions from next week to an undefined date.

March 4, 2012 23:19
1 minute read.
Netanyahu votes in Likud primary

Netanyahu votes in Likud primary 390. (photo credit: REUTERS)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Prime Minister Binyamin Netanyahu decided over the weekend to delay races for the Likud’s institutions from next week to an undefined date.

The prime minister announced last month that he would run for chairman of the Likud’s convention to prevent the Likud central committee from giving itself the right to decide the party’s next Knesset slate. While such races are usually held over a period of months, he initially decided to hold the election with only a week’s warning.

But after Government Services Minister Michael Eitan, who is running against him, threatened to take Netanyahu to an internal Likud court and other potential candidates complained, the prime minister backed down.

Eitan expressed satisfaction with the decision, but said he would still go to the internal court to make sure the Likud would abide by its own bylaws “even when not doing so would make it easier for one particular candidate.”

MK Danny Danon, who also wants to challenge Netanyahu, said he wants the election held as soon as possible because he believes he is strong in the field.

Likud activist Moshe Feiglin said that by seeking to hold an expedited race, Netanyahu was trying to prevent people from running. He said the prime minister did a similar maneuver with the race for the Likud chairmanship in which Vice Premier Silvan Shalom did not run.

Feiglin said he believed Netanyahu would end up dropping his candidacy for the convention chairmanship.

“His candidacy is improper,” Feiglin said. “If he decides to run, I wouldn’t be surprised if he loses.”

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu
August 31, 2014
Prime minister to Channel 1: I’ll be running again in next election

By Gil Stern Stern HOFFMAN