Via Dolorosa – Way of the Sorrow

Sometimes called the Way of the Cross or the Way of Sorrow, the Via Dolorosa represents the route that Jesus followed, according to tradition, from condemnation to crucifixion.

December 24, 2015 12:08
Church of the Holy Sepulchre

Lighting a candle at the Church of the Holy Sepulchre. (photo credit: SHMUEL BAR-AM)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Every Friday afternoon, pilgrims to the Holy City of Jerusalem follow brown-robed Franciscan priests along the Via Dolorosa. For many devout Christians this walk in the footsteps of Jesus is the highlight of their trip to Israel.

Following quietly behind a group leader who may be bent over under the weight of a large wooden cross, they pause at each of 14 stations along the route. They listen in somber contemplation as the priests read from the Bible. Then all recite a solemn prayer.


Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content