Gal Gadot to be honored for female empowerment at award ceremony

Critic's Choice Awards giving 'Wonder Woman' star #SeeHer prize.

December 21, 2017 21:19
1 minute read.
Gal Gadot presents the Video of the Year Award at the 2017 MTV Video Music Awards

Gal Gadot presents the Video of the Year Award at the 2017 MTV Video Music Awards. (photo credit: MARIO ANZUONI/REUTERS)

She’s not just a kick-ass superhero, she’s also a kick-ass role model. So it should come as no surprise that the Critic’s Choice Awards announced Thursday that Gal Gadot will be recognized for her role in female empowerment.

Gadot, the Israeli actress and star of the smash hit film Wonder Woman will be presented with the #SeeHer award at the awards ceremony in Los Angeles next month.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

“The #SeeHer Award recognizes a woman who embodies the values set forth by the #SeeHer movement – to push boundaries on changing stereotypes and recognize the importance of accurately portraying women across the entertainment landscape,” the organization said in a press release. “Gadot broke through this year as a powerful voice advocating for women, not only on screen as the iconic Wonder Woman, but in life as well, using her platform to encourage those in the entertainment industry and beyond to strive for fairness and parity across genders.”

Gadot will be awarded the honor by Patty Jenkins, who directed the actress in Wonder Woman. Gadot and Jenkins were jointly given the National Board of Review’s Spotlight Award last month, and Gadot will receive the Rising Star Award at the Palm Springs International Film Festival in January.

Writing on Twitter Thursday, Gadot thanked the organizers for this honor: “Feeling very grateful!”

Stephen Quinn, the chairman of #SeeHer, said, “Entertainment plays such a large part in influencing culture...Gal and Patty are role models for our #SeeHer mission, and we are delighted to have them recognized by the critics and the industry.”

This is the second year the award will be given – by the Association of National Advertisers – at the Critic’s Choice Awards. Last year the prize went to actress Viola Davis.

Wonder Woman received nominations from the Critic’s Choice Awards earlier this month for best action movie, best costume design and best visual effects. The ceremony will take place on January 11

Related Content

May 26, 2018
Ireland set to end abortion ban as exit polls signal landslide vote