US adds 7 nations to human trafficking blacklist

June 12, 2007 17:23

The Bush administration on Tuesday added seven nations, including several key US.allies in the Middle East, to its human trafficking blacklist, making them subject to possible sanctions. Among the new countries getting a failing grade were Bahrain, Kuwait, Oman and Qatar, which along with Algeria, Equatorial Guinea and Malaysia, join perennial offenders like Burma (Myanmar), Cuba, Iran, North Korea and Syria in the State Department's annual "Trafficking in Persons Report."

Related Content

Ken Livingstone
May 21, 2018
Embroiled ex-London mayor leaves Labour party as antisemitism scandal continues