‘Baba Joon’ wins the Ophir Award for best picture

Baba Joon will be the official Israeli selection for consideration for one of the 5 nominations for the Oscar for “Best Foreign Language Film.”

September 24, 2015 00:25
1 minute read.
Baba Joon

ACTOR NAVID NEGAHBAN puts his arm around Asher Avrahami in a scene from ‘Baba Joon,’ the Ophir Awards Best Picture winner. (photo credit: Courtesy)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Baba Joon, the story of a father-son conflict in a family of Iranian immigrants living in the Negev directed by Yuval Delshad, was awarded “Best Picture” at the Ophir Awards prize ceremony in Ashdod Monday night.

The Ophir Awards are the prizes of the Israeli Academy for Film. The award means Baba Joon will be the official Israeli selection for consideration for one of the five nominations for the Oscar for “Best Foreign Language Film.”

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

Baba Joon, Farsi for “Dear Dad,” stars Navid Negahban, the Iranian actor who played Abu Nazir in the US television series Homeland (which is based on the Israeli series Hatufim (English title: Prisoners of War).

The “Best Director Award” went to Erez Tadmor for Wounded Land, the story of police officials coping with a terrorist attack that affects their families.

“Best Screenplay” went to Elad Keidan for Afterthought (aka Staircases), about two men and their wanderings through Haifa.

Moran Rosenblatt, one of the rising young stars of the Israeli film industry, won “Best Actress” for her performance as a mentally disabled woman in Wedding Doll.

Roy Assaf received the “Best Actor Award” for his performance as a troubled police officer in Wounded Land. Assaf was also nominated for “Best Actor” for Wedding Doll and for “Best Supporting Actor” for The Kind Words. In 2012, he won “Best Actor” for God’s Neighbors.

Two veteran actors won in the supporting categories: Dvora Kedar for Fire Birds and Norman Issa for The 90 Minute War.

Censored Voices, by Mor Loushy, about soldiers’ experiences in the Six Day War, won “Best Documentary.”

Israeli feature films have been nominated for the “Best Foreign Language Film” Oscar 10 times, including four times in the past eight years, but none has won. The short list of potential nominees for that prize will be released in early January.

Culture and Sport Minister Miri Regev announced at the ceremony that the government would be adding funds to its film-development budget.

Related Content

Moshe Lion
August 14, 2018
J'lem mayoral candidate, Moshe Lion receives boost from labor union