Israel Prizes awarded on Independance Day

Lifetime achievement awards to Suzan Delal center, Aharon Yadin and ILAN.

April 21, 2010 07:32
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Sixteen prizes for personal or organizational achievement were handed out at the Israel Prize awards ceremony on Tuesday, an Independence Day tradition.

The winners included Prof. Yehoshua Kolodny of the Hebrew University (earth sciences), Prof. Yair Aharoni, a founder of Tel Aviv University’s Faculty of Management (administrative science), Prof. Avraham Nitzan of TAU (chemistry), 1998 Bialik Prize winner Aryeh Sivan, who wrote his first poem while stationed at a Palmah observation post near Beit She’an in 1947 and went on to pen 16 poetry books (poetry), Prof. Avishai Margalit of Princeton University, a professor emeritus at HU (philosophy), Prof. Moshe Addad of Bar-Ilan University (criminology), author and journalist Hanoch Bartov, whose work focuses largely on the “Sabra myth” (literature), Prof. Avraham Tal of TAU (Hebrew linguistics), Peter Mirom (photography) and Prof. Aryeh Levin of HU (general linguistics).

Cleveland, Ohio, native Prof. Jonathan Gressel of the Weizmann Institute of Science took home the award in agriculture for his work in biotechnology. Gressel immigrated to Israel with his family 60 years ago at the age of 14.

The lifetime achievement awards were given to Tel Aviv’s Susan Delal Center, for its contribution to dance arts; Negev pioneer Aharon Yadin, education minister in Yitzhak Rabin’s first government; ILAN - the Israel Foundation for Handicapped Children; and Druse community leader Kamal Mansour.

The ceremony is held every Independence Day in the capital, in the presence of the president, prime minister, Knesset speaker and Supreme Court president, and is traditionally the closing event of the holiday.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Jisr az-Zarq
April 3, 2014
Residents of Jisr az-Zarqa beckon Israel Trail hikers to enjoy their town