Oz literary hope for an Israeli Nobel in 2009

Oz remaining hope for an

October 6, 2009 23:47
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Although Israeli professor Yakir Aharonov was left disappointed on Tuesday when he was not awarded this year's Nobel Prize for Physics, an Israeli author still harbors high hopes of winning a 2009 Nobel Prize. Author Amos Oz hopes to join Ada Yonath as the second Israeli 2009 Nobel Prize winner, a hope backed by the bookmakers, who have installed Oz as strong favorite to be honored in the literature category on Thursday. Oz is one the most influential and well-regarded intellectuals in Israel, and has written numerous novels tackling life here. His political writing is also said to reflect decades of service to the Israeli peace movement as one of the founding members of Peace Now. Oz, who has often been cited in connection with the coveted award, is estimated to have a 4 to 1 chance of winning, followed by Algerian-born poet Assia Djebar of France at 6-1, and Spanish author Luis Goytisola at 7-1, according to odds published by UK betting shop Ladbrokes. The Nobel Prize committee typically narrows down a list of approximately 350 candidates to about 20 names, which are then shown to the 18 Academy members in the spring. The Academy members are then charged with selecting a winner from this longlist. Before too much excitement is raised, it would be pertinent to bear in mind the story of last year's winner, though. Frenchman Jean-Marie Gustave Le Clézio, was ranked 14th in the bookmakers' estimates, but beat the odds and the competition to secure the 10 million Swedish krona (NIS 7.3m) prize.

Related Content

Jisr az-Zarq
April 3, 2014
Residents of Jisr az-Zarqa beckon Israel Trail hikers to enjoy their town