GRAPEVINE: A Nobel Prize on the way?

Relatives, friends, and colleagues were shocked on Saturday to learn of the sudden death of Yehuda Shavit, the long-serving head of the Asher Regional Council, who suffered a heart attack.

October 17, 2013 12:17
3 minute read.
'Weizmann Institute of science was basking in the reflected glory of Noble prize winners"

'Weizmann was basking in the reflected glory of Noble prize". (photo credit: courtesy)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Last week, the Weizmann Institute of Science was basking in the reflected glory of Nobel Prize winners who, though they no longer live in Israel, did the prize-winning research at the Rehovot institution. Now it’s the Technion-Israel Institute of Technology’s turn to gloat – but doubly so, because Prof. Mordechai (Moti) Segev of its physics faculty and Solid State Institute is still here and still working at the Technion.

Segev is receiving the American Physical Society’s prestigious Arthur L. Schawlow Prize in Laser Science for 2014 – and is the first Israeli to do so. The prize was established in 1991 to recognize outstanding contributions to basic research using lasers to advance our knowledge of the fundamental physical properties of materials and their interaction with light. Six of the past 25 recipients went on to win the Nobel Prize in Physics – John Hall, Steve Chu, Theodor Hansch, William Phillips, Carl Wieman and David Wineland – so there is good reason to hope that Israel will receive yet another Nobel Prize in the not-too-distant future. The Technion already has three Nobel laureates.


Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content