15th government of Palestinian Authority sworn in

Government headed by new PA Prime Minister Hamdallah sworn in; Abbas says new gov't working on agreement with Hamas.

June 6, 2013 20:48
1 minute read.
PA President Mahmoud Abbas (front row R) stands next to PM Rami Hamdallah (C) at  swearing-in

PA government sworn in 370. (photo credit: REUTERS)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


The new Palestinian Authority government was sworn in before PA President Mahmoud Abbas in Ramallah on Thursday.

The 24-member government, headed by Rami Hamdallah, is the 15th since the establishment of the PA nearly two decades ago.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

Hamdallah’s government has two deputy prime ministers: Ziad Abu Amr, an independent politician from the Gaza Strip, and Muhammad Mustafa, director of the PLO’s Palestine Investment Fund.

In addition to Abu Amr and Mustafa, six new ministers joined the government: Shukri Bishara as Finance Minister, Ali Abu Zuhri as Education Minister, Kamal al-Sharafi as Social Welfare Minister, Jawad Awwad as Health Minister, Nabil Smaidi as Transportation Minister, and Saed al-Kawni as Minister for Local Government.

The remaining ministries will continue to be run by those ministers who served in outgoing Prime Minister Salam Fayyad’s government.

They include Foreign Affairs Minister Riad Malki, Interior Minister Said Abu Ali, Minister for Jerusalem Affairs Adnan Husseini, Labor Minister Ahmed Majdalani and Minister for Wakf Affairs Mahmoud Habbash.

Abbas said during the swearing-in ceremony that the new government was his government and that he would fully support it in carrying out its duties “to achieve the establishment of an independent Palestinian state with Jerusalem as its capital.”


“Our mission is difficult and we must face the difficulties with determination and unity,” Abbas said.

He added that this government was supposed to be a national unity government with Hamas. “But what happened was that we still haven’t reached agreement with Hamas on holding new elections.”

“Once we agree with Hamas, we will form a new government consisting of technocrats and independent figures,” Abbas said.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Visitors read books at the Big Bad Wolf Book Sale, which calls itself the world's biggest
October 18, 2018
'World's largest book sale' opens shop in Dubai