India moves cricket tournament overseas amid security concerns

March 23, 2009 05:18


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

The Indian Premier League will be held overseas this season because of security concerns since it coincides with the country's general elections. Some players and officials had expressed concerns about playing on the subcontinent after a terrorist attack on Sri Lanka's cricket team in Lahore, Pakistan earlier this month. India was also the target of a terror attack in Mumbai in November which left 164 people dead and forced the cancelation of the first Champions League Twenty20 tournament for provincial teams from five countries. Shashank Manohar, India's cricket chief, said Sunday that organizers were looking for a venue outside India for the IPL's second season after the government refused to approve the tournament schedule because security forces would be occupied with the elections. The 59-match tournament is to be held April 10 to May 24, while the elections for the lower house of India's Parliament will take place across the country in five different phases between April 16 and May 13.

Related Content

dudi sela
August 31, 2014
Sela steamrolled by Dimitrov