Katz Award recipients announced

The winners of the Katz Award for 2014 have been announced and will be presented with their awards at a special ceremony in Jerusalem on May 27.
The Katz Award was established in 1975 by Marcos and Adina Katz and is bestowed upon individuals and enterprises engaged in the application of Halacha, or Jewish law, in modern life, by their written works and practical endeavors.
The four recipients of the award are Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks, Rabbi Zvi (Herschel) Schachter, Rabbi Yehoshua Yeshaya Neuwirth z"l and Rabbi Zalman Nehemiah Goldberg.
They were selected by a committee compromising former Chief Rabbi of Israel Rabbi Yisrael Meir Lau, renowned Talmudic scholar Rabbi Adin Steinsaltz, and Hebrew University President Professor Menahem Ben-Sasson. 
"These are four of the great minds of the Jewish world. Their contribution to the application of Halacha in modern life will last for generations to come,” said Marcos Katz, who established the award in 1975.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy