About me: Chaviva Sarah Fiskus

Chaviva Fiskus about me (photo credit: )
Chaviva Fiskus about me
(photo credit: )
TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Age: 22 Residence: Rockland County, New York Married? With children? Unfortunately not yet. When? Its all in G-D's hands Occupation: Job hunter, Facilitator Education: AA.S liberal Arts and Office Tech Pets: Does a pesky little brother count? I honestly think a pet would have been a bit more manageable Religious affiliation / observance: Jewish / Modern Orthodox with right wing leanings but not a B.Y. type Last person / party I voted for: I voted for Bush b/c I didn't want to see Kerry in the Oval Office Next person / party I will vote for: Which ever candidate is deemed worthy of my vote My history: I've been living in NY for most of my life. Metaphorically speaking, its been like a life sentence for me lol. Though I've been outside of the NY area several times. Its a gateway for me. And I don't have any preconceptions towards those who live over the west side of the Hudson River. In fact, I have more of an affinity towards out-of-town types. New Jersey doesn't count. I don't blend in with the mainstream NY mold. I hail from an orthodox background. I had a religious upbringing. I attended a coed hebrew day school in my earlier years. Then I was switched into a more ultra-orthodox environment for middle school. Needless to say, I did not have such a pleasent experience albeit a small group of friends I made. I had a little difficulty living up to the school administration's high religious standards but I survived. High school was a different but a happier story. I went to a more left wing high school so I have more to be nostalgic about. They were religiously consistent but not as neurotic. Every place has its perks and quirks but my high school years were less traumatic,mind you. At least they allowed us to be teenagers without crossing the line for cryin'out loud Family history: Both of my parents had a less religious upbringing. They consider themselves to be BT's. My dad was born and bred in NY. My mom on the other hand, grew up in Scranton PA( not under Palestinain Authority but it shares the same initials which may be a bit confusing to those who are geographically challenged. Another pun).She then relocated to L.A. later on in her life . After 25 years of being married to each other, my Dad still considers my Mom to be an out-of-towner ( or at least not a foreigner) but on a more possitive light. Last week marked their wedding aniversary. It comes to show show me the stability of their marriage despite their different regional backgrounds. My mom related to me when she was once in the dating scene, she was hesitant about going out with NY guys since she wasn't accostumed to their mentality until she met my dad. I suppose love conquers all. Then I came into the picture trailed after by 4 more siblings My connection with Israel: My first visist to Israel took place when I was in the 10th grade. We went as a class trip. Birth Right subsidized for the most part. After graduation, I decided to enroll in a learning program overseas for a year. I desperately wanted to prolong my stay but my parents insisted that I pursue a college education and move on with my life. Like any disgruntled seminary student would do, I reluctantly returned to the US to pursue a college degree and hopefully parlay it into a career. Alot of help it did. I graduated in June and my unemployment status still remains immutable What I would take with me to a deserted island: My bedroom, a couple of friends, a novel to read etc If I could have dinner with any person in the world it would be: I would like to dine with Michael Savage, Debbie Schlussel, Michelle Malkin and Steven Plaut out of many of the Conservative pundits I'd like to meet Which feminine/masculine trait would I like to have: I'm happy with the way I am though some people complain I'm to meek and should be more aggresive, exspecially on job interviews. I'm very opinionated and vocal about it. I stand on my grounds. I try not to yield towards pressure. As far as perfection is concerned, I can't vouch for that b/c I'm not Ann Coulter.Having said that, I do believe everyone needs to improve on their character including me What angers you: Liberals. Self-hating Jews. Neturei Karta. Yuppies. Narcissists. College professors. Political Correctness. Fanatics of all types. Taliban. Trial lawyers What makes you happy: Helping those in need and being appreciated for it leaves me with the visceral feeling of gratification. Last book I read was: I'm a sucker for books. I'm a voracious bookworm when it comes to mystery novels. Nancy Drews, The Hardy Boys, Sherlock Holmes, and Agatha Kristie were my favorite reading pastimes. Nothing beats a classic. Though, I can also read more comtemporary novels and sometimes non-fiction if it piques my interest. Sometimes I'll go nuclear over political books Comfort food: Godiva chocolate is my weakness My life five years from now: G-D willing married with a family and a decent job in Israel Happiness: 1-10 (10 being the happiest) 7 Click here to leave a message for Chaviva TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Meet all 'About Me' participants