About me: Maria Jorgensen

Maria Jorgensen (photo credit: )
Maria Jorgensen
(photo credit: )
TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Age: 26 Residence: Jerusalem (originally from Denmark) Married? With children? Neither Occupation: Student Education: Degree in Comparative Religion Pets: My dog Minimax who is waiting for me in Denmark Religious affiliation / observance: Protestant/Lutheran Last person / party I voted for: The Socialist People's Party Next person / party I will vote for: I'm loyal My history (100 words max): I was born in Denmark, a 30-minute drive from the German border. I come from a religious family and attended a Lutheran Private School until I was 16. Then I entered the real world and found out that not everyone believes the same thing as me. I grew up on a farm, so I have a special love for animals and nature. Living in Jerusalem I miss horse back riding and playing handball! Why is there no handball team in this city?? In a few weeks I'm leaving, though. A job is waiting for me at Unicef in Copenhagen Family history (100 words max): Almost all of my family members come from the city of Christiansfeld in the south of Denmark. My great grandparents bought a big estate there in the beginning of last century - my mom was born there and recently my uncle took over the estate. All of my ancestors were farmers. Today all my uncles live off agriculture, pig farms or eel farms - not very kosher, I know! The women are (almost) all nurses. In the next generation I'm afraid the farming tradition will disappear - me and most of my cousins are academics My connection with Israel: My family has a weird connection with Israel. My mother's cousin is married to an Israeli from Kibbutz Ramot Menashe. In the middle of the 90s he arranged for my sister to volunteer at the kibbutz. She is now married to an Israeli as well. I swore I wouldn't do the same (to spare my parents for more worries) but in 2001 I came here to volunteer for an organization devoted to reconciliation between Jews and Palestinians. Nothing really happened in that department, but of course (!) I found an Israeli boyfriend. We've now been together for 6 years - most of the time long distance, although I did study here for one year at the Hebrew University. And right now I'm in Israel again interning as a part of my second degree. Sorry to all the Jewish, single girls out there, but Danish men are a bit boring What I would take with me to a deserted island: My mobile phone and a lot of food If I could have dinner with any person in the world it would be: Bono Which feminine/masculine trait would I like to have: A feminine waist and the masculine ability not to take every comment as a personal insult What angers you: Arrogance, sloppiness and cruelty towards animals What makes you happy: My family and friends, animals, old people (I used to work in an old people's home) and food Last book I read was: "Evil" by the Swedish writer Jan Guillou Comfort food: Wine gum and other candies, Kurdish and Yemenite dishes My life five years from now: Hopefully I'll be a correspondent for a Danish news paper in the Middle East, or working for Channel E - I love gossip :-) You may not like it but I have something controversial to say: It's not that controversial, but anyways: One day I was standing at a bus stop in Jerusalem next to two Israeli girls. We were standing right beside a trash can but still they decided to throw their trash on the ground. I picked it up for them, and another person told me that I had done a mitzva, because I cleaned the holy ground of Jerusalem. If this is so, I think all Israelis should think a little bit more about the fact that Israel is the holy land that God gave them. If they really appreciate it so much, then they shouldn't be so careless about the environment. Everything is very dirty here! Recycle, use the bin - it's not so hard! Happiness: 1-10 (10 being the happiest) 6 Click here to leave a message for Maria TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Meet all 'About Me' participants