Clinton and Trump campaigns criticize UNESCO vote denying Jewish ties to the Temple Mount

The United States cast a vote against the resolution, which passed by a vote of 24-6 with 26 abstentions and two absentees.

Israeli PM Benjamin Netanyahu responds to UNESCO vote on Temple Mount, Western Wall
US Presidential nominee Donald Trump and a top adviser to Hillary Clinton both criticized the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organizations vote denying Jewish ties to the Temple Mount and the Western Wall, Friday morning.
Democratic nominee Hillary Clinton's foreign policy adviser Laura Rosenberer condemned the resolution stating, "It's Outrageous that UNESCO would deny the deep, historic connection between Judaism and the Temple Mount."
"As Secretary of State, Hillary fought to defend Israel against biased resolutions like there at the United Nations and other international organizations and would proudly do so again as President."
In a Facebook post Trump called the resolution "further evidence of the enormous anti-Israel bias of the UN."
Trump also stated that should he win Jerusalem will be recognized as Israel's capital by the United States.
He continued on to criticize President Barak Obama stating, "Further, the decision by the Obama Administration to strike the word 'Israel' after the word 'Jerusalem' in the President's prepared text was a capitulation to Israel's enemies, and a posthumous embarrassment to Shimon Peres, whose memory the President was attempting to honor."
The United States cast a vote against the resolution, which passed by a vote of 24-6.
A senior administration official told The Jerusalem Post on Thursday that, "One-sided, unhelpful resolutions have been a recurring challenge at UNESCO in recent years, and the United States has strongly opposed these resolutions at the UNESCO Executive Board," the official continued. "We will not hesitate to use our vote at the current Board meeting to oppose these resolutions."
The votes broke out in this way.
Those who supported the motion included Algeria, Bangladesh, Brazil, Chad, China, Dominican Republic, Egypt, Iran, Lebanon, Malaysia, Mauritania, Mexico, Morocco, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Qatar, Russia, Senegal, South Africa, Sudan and Vietnam.
Nations that abstained from the vote were: Albania, Argentina, Cameroon, Cote de’Ivoire, El Salvador, Spain, France, Ghana, Greece, Guinea, Haiti, India, Italy, Japan, Kenya, Nepal, Uganda, Paraguay, South Korea, St. Kits and Nevis, Slovenia, Sri Lanka, Sweden, Togo, Trinidad and Ukraine.
Absent countries included Serbia and Turkmenistan;
Those who opposed the resolution were: the US, Great Britain, the Netherlands, Lithuania, Germany and Estonia voted against the motion.