US: 12 additional countries could face Iran sanctions

March 20, 2012 20:48

WASHINGTON - Twelve additional countries that import Iranian crude may eventually be subject to new US financial sanctions unless they significantly cut their purchases, a senior US official said on Tuesday.

The official, speaking as US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton was expected to exempt Japan and 10 European Union countries from new US sanctions, said other importers could look to the example of Japan, which cut Iran oil purchases from 15-22 pct over the last half of 2011.The official did not list the countries, although major Iranian crude importers include China, India, Turkey and South Africa.

Related Content

Breaking news
August 21, 2019
Palestinian arrested after throwing rocks, knife, at IDF post


Cookie Settings