B’nai B’rith honors Diaspora affairs journalists

Anshel Pfeffer, Shaul Mayzlish, Avraham Tirosh and Ilan Goren among those to collect awards.

April 22, 2010 10:40
1 minute read.
Bnai Brith logo

Bnai Brith logo. (photo credit: Courtesy)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


The B’nai B’rith World Center announced the winners of its 2010 Award for Journalism Recognizing Excellence in Diaspora Reportage on Wednesday.

Anshel Pfeffer, 36, a Haaretz military correspondent, won in the print media category, given in memory of Wolf and Hilda Matsdorf, for a series of 11 articles he published in a column titled “Jerusalem and Babylon” that appeared in the paper’s English edition.

Shaul Mayzlish, 59, an independent film producer and director, won the award in the broadcast media category for two films carried by Channel 1 – Embrace Me, which examines the life and times of singer Joe Amar as a mirror on the tangled relationship between North African Jewry and the State of Israel, and Rabbinate in Stormy Days, about first Ashkenazi chief rabbi of Israel, Yitzhak Halevi Herzog.

A lifetime achievement award was conferred to Avraham Tirosh, 73, a journalist for Ma’ariv from 1967 to 2002.

Additionally, a certificate of merit was awarded to Ilan Goren of Channel 10 for his film Lost in India, which presents the return of Bnei Menashe to Judaism and their immigration to Israel; and a certificate of excellence was awarded to Shlomi Goldberg, head of the Jewish Heritage and Culture Department at Channel 1 since 1999.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Antwerp, Belgium
May 25, 2019
Promoter of Israel boycott set to enter Belgian parliament