Bennett has no plans to change Bayit Yehudi list

Bennett calls new list "excellent," says he is proud of it and everyone on it.

January 16, 2015 12:29
1 minute read.

Bayit Yehudi leader Naftali Bennett at primary elections. (photo credit: MARC ISRAEL SELLEM)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


The Bayit Yehudi list will stay as it is, party leader Naftali Bennett said Friday.

Bennett called the new list “excellent” and said he is proud of it and everyone on it, sources close to him recounted.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

Bennett warned his allies not to believe what they read in the press, after Friday morning’s papers included reports of him planning use his right to appoint two candidates to boost Judea, Samaria and Gaza (Yesha) Council foreign envoy Danny Dayan from 21st place to a realistic slot, or to appoint Tzohar rabbinical organization chairman Rabbi David Stav and former National Security Advisor Yaakov Amidror.

The reports came after Bayit Yehudi members elected a list comprised of many incumbents and only two to three secular candidates in realistic spots.

Bayit Yehudi’s primary took place Wednesday, and the results came out Thursday morning.

The party leader was reelected with more than 90 percent of the vote, and will be followed on the candidates list by Construction Minister Uri Ariel, leader of Tekuma, a party running with Bayit Yehudi.

Next is MK Ayelet Shaked, a close ally of Bennett, who received more votes than any other primary candidate and moved ahead of the first slot reserved for a woman.


She is followed by other incumbents: Deputy Religious Services Minister Eli Ben-Dahan, Knesset Finance Committee chairman Nissan Slomiansky and Senior Citizens Minister Uri Orbach.

Then, in the seventh spot, is Yinon Magal, a journalist appointed by Bennett to a reserved spot, MK Shuli Moalem-Refaeli, Tekuma’s Bezalel Smotrich, MK Mordechai Yogev, Deputy Education Minister Avraham Wortzman, central committee member and Bennett confidant Nir Orbach and Rabbi Avihai Ronzki, a former IDF chief rabbi, who is also close to Bennett.

The 14th spot goes to Orit Struck, who is in Tekuma, and the 15th is saved for a female candidate from Bayit Yehudi. The next woman on the list is Yehudit Shilat, director of the Forum Takana against sexual abuse, who will skip over four men to get the slot.

Then comes Im Tirzu founder Ronen Shoval, who was enthusiastically endorsed by Bennett, in the last realistic spot according to many recent polls, followed by award-winning educator Sarah Eliash in the next slot reserved for women, and Tekuma’s MK Zevulun Kalfa.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Gideon Sa'ar
March 24, 2015
Sa'ar says national unity government is 'still on the table'