Five books shortlisted for Sapir Prize

Two authors who have won the award in the past are back in the Sapir spotlight.

December 10, 2017 16:31
Michal Ben-Naftali

Michal Ben-Naftali. (photo credit: COURTESY SAPIR PRIZE)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Five books have been shortlisted for the prestigious Israeli Sapir Prize, including two authors who have won the award in the past.

The five nominees are: Shimon Adaf’s Tolle Lege, Sami Berdugo’s Because Guy, Amir Ziv’s Four Fathers, Noa Yedlin’s Stockholm and Esther Peled’s Widely Open Underneath.

In 2012, Adaf won the Hebrew literature prize for his novel Mox Nox, and in 2013 Yedlin won for House Arrest.

Ziv, a first-time novelist, is the deputy editor of the financial newspaper Calcalist. Peled is the first author to be selected for a self-published work since the organizers changed the rules in 2015 to allow it.

The Sapir Prize, which is funded by Mifal Hapayis – the National Lottery – awards each author on the shortlist NIS 40,000. The winner of the prize, which will be announced on January 22, receives NIS 150,000 and has their book translated into Arabic and into another language of the author’s choosing.

Last year, the prize went to Michal Ben-Naftali for her work The Teacher.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

May 20, 2019
Israel’s Supreme Court won’t change route of Jerusalem Day flag march