Opinion

Jerusalem Post's talented team of journalists provides insight into their work presented in the opinion section. This section highlights the beliefs and values that experienced writers who are witnessing the Middle East turmoil unfold. Their first hand encounters with world leaders have shaped their opinions and world views to be shared on this page.

A new line of wines in the Psagot winery was named after US Secretary of State Mike Pompeo.
Grapevine November 25, 2020: Family ties

Movers and shakers in Israeli society.

Bank Hapoalim
How to make the most of COVID-19 to expand your customer base – opinion

How to cope with the financial crisis – and even emerge from it stronger.

By DUDU LEVY REICH
24/11/2020
U.S. Democratic presidential candidate and former Vice President Joe Biden speaks during a campaign
Joe Biden has underestimated Iran – opinion

Iran is still the sinister player in the Middle East

Is belief in God a delusion? - opinion

So, is the distinction between insanity and religion a mere semantic quibble? In a new paper, we review research that examines relationships – and distinctions – between religion and delusion.

By REUTERS
23/11/2020
WILL THE Submarine Affair eventually sink Netanyahu?
Gantz's Submarine Affair probe just the tip of the iceberg

There has been a cloud over this matter for far too long

People lie about having had COVID-19 to avoid wearing a mask – opinion

The quickest way to discover that they are lying about their antibodies is to ask them what their count was.

By MICAH D. HALPERN
23/11/2020
Time for an Israeli peace initiative for Palestinian conflict – opinion

To get closer to the same page regarding the Iranian threat, Israel needs to minimize tensions with the US on the Palestinian front.

By EFRAIM INBAR , ERAN LERMAN
23/11/2020
Human rights and antisemitism: Beyond the partisan divide – opinion

For anyone going beyond the labels and self-declared guardians of morality, the case for labeling these organizations as systematically antisemitic is clear.

By GERALD M. STEINBERG
23/11/2020
Remembering Pope John XXIII, a true friend of the Jews – opinion

The young generations should be aware of the goodness of this great man.

By BARUCH TENEMBAUM
23/11/2020
Appointment to Yad Vashem chair is a sensitive subject – opinion

I am afraid Effi Eitam is much too extreme, and he could tarnish the reputation of Yad Vashem as a memorial and as a museum.

By BETTY EPPEL
23/11/2020
Congress must implement US-Sudan deal – opinion

I know firsthand the vital and often urgent role the United States must play in supporting democracy in Africa.

By ED ROYCE
23/11/2020
Will United Hatzalah inspire similar groups in the Middle East? – opinion

I look forward to continuing to build our relationship and hopefully extend the work of United Hatzalah to helping people in all of the countries in our region of the world.

23/11/2020
The US is insane, and I wouldn't have it any other way – opinion

Americans are the most stubborn, defiant, industrious and entrepreneurial people in the world. No one is going to lock them down.

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu stands with US President Donald Trump after signing the Abraham Ac
Will Israel’s interests be preserved under any US administration?

The State of Israel must ensure that its security and moral interests are safeguarded under every American administration.

By ARIEL SENDER
23/11/2020
Welcome home, Jonathan Pollard - opinion

It’s about time. Pollard has done his time, though had he been denied parole he could have served another dozen years.

By CHARLES O. KAUFMAN
22/11/2020
reform rabbis
In defense inter-denominational Jewish dialogue - opinion

"In our dialogue, I learned from these non-Orthodox rabbis about tikkun olam and interfaith work which has largely been forgotten by Orthodoxy."

Rabbis make welcome call for Jewish unity

The Jewish people cannot afford to be divided at a time when there is growing global antisemitism and attacks on Israel.

Finally, Pollard is free - opinion

Jonathan is free now. His burdens with his wife’s illness are great. He has much to make up for. I hope he will do that in Israel.

BUSTS OF SOVIET leaders Vladimir Lenin and Joseph Stalin are on display in Muzeon Park of Arts in Mo
Why did Stalin vote for a Jewish state?

The Soviet UN vote helped Israel for a moment in time. That was all.

22/11/2020
The cloud awaits Israel’s banks. Are they ready to make the move?

The need for adequate risk management and regulatory compliance cannot be ignored.

By BEN HAKLAI
22/11/2020
US gift, estate exemptions to be dramatically lowered

President-elect Joe Biden has announced he will undo some of the tax regulations introduced by the Trump Administration through the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017.

By EITAN ASNAFY , DAVE WOLF
22/11/2020
On our way out of lockdown, we should remember our pre-corona habits

Our focus does not need to be on forming new habits alone, but rather rediscovering and reclaiming the right old ones.

By BENJI LEVY
21/11/2020
Biden knows well that being pro-Israel does not make one anti-Palestine

US election ushers in a new opening for Israeli-Palestinian peace

By SALIBA SARSAR , YAEL S. ARONOFF
21/11/2020
Response to 'I used to be a Never Trumper. Not anymore,' by US Jew

I feel it important for Jerusalem Post readers to know that many American Jews disagree with nearly every point written.

By ADAM EPSTEIN
21/11/2020
US President Donald Trump speaks as Israel's Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, United Arab Emirates
How can Israel mend relations with White House following political change?

A change in the White House could lead to a change in the trend regarding long-term relations between Israel and the US.

By NADAV TAMIR
21/11/2020
US President Donald Trump speaks about early results from the 2020 US presidential election in the E
In America’s body politic, Trump’s gut made his presidency failure

“I have a gut and my gut tells me more sometimes than anybody else’s brain can ever tell me.

Israelis deserve a leader who stands by their word, no shticks and tricks

Israelis deserve a leadership that puts the people before political survival, one that doesn’t engage in daily shticks and tricks.

Depressed person broods in tunnel
Can AI replace humans in psychology?

AI can not replace the human touch when dealing with mental health issues, but it can lend a helping hand in this time of need.

By HAVA DORON SOFERMAN
21/11/2020
Where does Israel fit into the world of Joe Biden? – opinion

Biden is a friend of both Israel and Netanyahu, though friendship in politics is not always the same as in normal life.

Trump proved what Netanyahu must learn: Incitement doesn't win elections

Could President Donald Trump’s loss and President-elect Joe Biden’s victory indicate a global change toward more moderate leaders that could also be felt here in Israel?

By YAYA FINK
20/11/2020
The two sides of Israel - in space and on the ground

We shouldn’t have to look up in the atmosphere to find that light. We desperately need it here on the ground too.

19/11/2020
How new immigrants in Israel can make money and keep it – opinion

Let’s look at the business and tax side of aliyah.

By LEON HARRIS
19/11/2020
It's time to free Jonathan Pollard

US authorities need to do the right thing and put an end to the Pollard saga.

Calculating taxes
Do you really think it’s that easy to predict financial future? - opinion

It helps to remember the most important rule of investing for retirement: You’re investing for the long term, not to get rich tomorrow.

By AARON KATSMAN
19/11/2020
Hillel's Tech Corner: Clinical psychology on your phone

Not to get too personal here, but I think we can all agree that this pandemic has taken an emotional and mental toll on us all.

19/11/2020
Ehud Olmert to 'Post': Netanyahu only knows how to destroy democracy

Charles de Gaulle was a leader. Benjamin Netanyahu – in his essence, behavior and lifestyle – is nothing more than a pretentious wheeler-dealer.

19/11/2020
The ‘Sand Curtain’ between Israel and the Arab world has fallen – opinion

But some of the world has difficulty rejoicing in the breakthrough

My Word: It’s not rocket science

Thousands of miles and tons of hypocrisy separate those who call for Israeli restraint while ignoring the fact that security depends on deterrence.

Britain's opposition Labour Party leader Jeremy Corbyn
Christiane Amanpour, Jeremy Corbyn's ill-deserved reprieves – opinion

Unless that culture is rejected as a whole, its hateful messages and phony “regrets” will continue to feed the airways and fill the halls of power.

19/11/2020
Dolly Parton sponsored Moderna's coronavirus vaccine without knowing

Moderna’s is one of two highly successful vaccines that experts say could be distributed starting as early as the end of this year.

By CHRISTI CARRAS/TNS
19/11/2020
Will a candidate with anti-Israel views determine who controls the Senate?

"I am prepared to change my mind about the Reverend Warnock, but only if he changes his mind about Israel."

I had no idea Biden has a Jewish family. That’s actually good - Opinion

Joe Biden doesn’t need to talk about his Jewish family — he’s already proven himself to be a mensch. The fact that he has Jewish grandchildren is merely icing on the cake.

By SOPHIE VERSHBOW/JTA
19/11/2020
Keep peace momentum alive

We are watching history unfold before our eyes. Slowly, over the past 43 years, we made peace with only two of our neighbors out of the entire Arab world.

‘Winston’s hiccup’ and the Jewish homeland

Churchill’s drinking habits were usually incidental to his political activities, although an exception to this is contained in a bizarre story concerning events in the Middle East about 100 years ago

By MELVYN LIPITCH
18/11/2020
The turning point of US political history - opinion

The White House became the center of abusive rhetoric, unfounded allegations, in which the truth played a secondary role and unscientific arguments became the norm

Understanding the hypocrisy of the Muslim world – opinion

Indignation over France’s support for freedom of speech and secularism as being Islamophobic is severely undermined by their silence about and occasional defense of China’s treatment of the Uighurs.

By KELLY ALKHOULI
18/11/2020
The struggle for equality in Jerusalem is an ongoing fight – opinion

Jerusalem is bi-national, physically undivided, and the most segregated city in the world. Jerusalem is an apartheid city.

Operation Torch and the liberation of 400,000 Jews

The bureaucracy and the machinery to implement the “Final Solution” were set for Vichy Jews living on France's both sides of the Mediterranean Sea

By EDITH SHAKED
18/11/2020
US Jewry spreading to the South will benefit Republican Party – opinion

Jewish migration from blue states to swing states is increasing and is likely to continue

By IRIT TRATT
18/11/2020
Secretary Pompeo: Read UNSC 2334 – Settlements are illegal

Palestinians were not only unhappy with the biased actions of the Trump administration, but they felt it gave the right-wing Israeli prime minister a green light to put further pressure on them.

By DAOUD KUTTAB
18/11/2020
Kamala Harris smashes glass ceiling for girls everywhere – opinion

The religious world has seen changes thanks to the brave men and women who have dared to break existing conventions and move toward an egalitarian reality.

Regarding Jerusalem comments, EU needs to be careful

The visit by the European officials raises questions as to why they are involved in the first place.

Freedom for Jonathan Pollard is a matter of urgency – opinion

The Pollards are not only US citizens, they are also Israeli citizens; and lest we think that Israel has been there for the Pollards throughout their tortuous travails, think again.

By SHOLOM STRAJCHER
17/11/2020
Bad news for Democrats: You won! – opinion

Every move Biden makes domestically will be viewed reductively, favoring one faction or the other.

17/11/2020
How will the US election results affect Israel? – opinion

The most striking feature of the results is that the president’s party succeeded, even while individually he did not.

By WILLIAM S. COMANOR
17/11/2020
Are we committed to ensuring a Jewish future in Europe; and if so, how?

Today, with just 1.3 million Jewish inhabitants, it is home to less than 10% compared to 1939 when it was home to 60% of the global Jewish population.

By NAFTALI SCHIFF
17/11/2020
Israel economy strikes back in third-quarter boost

“The Israeli economy has been resilient due to strong hi-tech sectors and lack of flights, which pushed private spending up sharply."

By STEVEN SCHEER
16/11/2020
Joe Biden and Donald Trump
Five values that could heal divide between Democrats and Republicans

How can we possibly unite America? We Americans hate each other. We’re divided on every level.

Holocaust class takes place in a school with mostly African-American students.
Florida Holocaust-denying school principal deserved to be fired - opinion

The Palm Beach Post, the school board decided to once again fire the beleaguered principal after receiving more than 1,200 complaints about its decision.

By EVAN NIERMAN
16/11/2020
China’s development, new opportunity for opening up and win-win results

China’s lead in economic recovery and sustainable development will inject more confidence and greater impetus into the global economic recovery.

By DAI YUMING
16/11/2020
The loneliness of quarantine – even for those surrounded by family

Quarantine means isolation. This is something we must all take very seriously.

By AVRAHAM KOPP
16/11/2020
What does possible role of Diaspora Jews in Israeli gov't actually mean?

‘The proposed bill may be well-intentioned, but it does not seem well-grounded.’

By JONATHAN FELDSTEIN
16/11/2020
Why is Netanyahu like the 'ungiving tree'?

Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu gets rid of everyone who shows any potential.

Should the gov't be able to enforce public health, a coronavirus vaccine?

Over time people stopped fearing disease and became scared of government involvement in public health instead.

Thousands of Ethiopian Israelis celebrate the holiday of Sigd on November 27, 50 days after Yom Kipp
Sigd - A sign of social and personal vaccination

The Sigd holiday enables Ethiopian Jews to do communal introspection, become stronger, unite and to dream of a better future: a mutual and spiritual future in Jerusalem.

By MICHAL AVERA SAMUEL
16/11/2020
From life cycles to the lives of at-risk youth

MCE works closely with Shanti House, or “Beit Hashanti” in Hebrew, an organization that serves at-risk youth and youth in immediate danger.

Unity, Mizrachi, and the legacy of Rabbi Sacks

For the first time in Zionist history, the majority of the 525 delegates from Israel and around the world were identified with the political and religious right wing of the Zionist movement.

By DORON PEREZ
15/11/2020
The election results roller coaster

The problem is that even before the elections, Trump declared that the Democratic candidate could win only fraudulently.

What can explain Netanyahu's sudden concern for Arabs?

Bibi’s too busy with MK Mansour Abbas to phone Joe Biden.

15/11/2020
Money for terror.
We can't ignore the funding of terrorism any longer - opinion

The effects of Iranian-sponsored terrorism have been felt around the globe.

Grapevine, November 6, 2020: A right royal gift

AT THE end of this week, Queen Elizabeth and Prince Philip will celebrate the 73rd anniversary of their marriage

Palestinians living in Jordan deserve to be Jordanian citizens

Palestinian Arabs living in UNRWA-administered towns in Lebanon, Syria and Jordan should be given the opportunity to become citizens in their host countries.

14/11/2020
Pope Benedict XVI receives a gift by Lord Jonathan Sacks, chief rabbi of the United Hebrew Congregat
Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks, a ‘prince of God’

Rabbi Sacks was a prince of God, a prince of dignity, a prince of kindness, a prince of eloquence, a prince of wisdom.

By RABBI WARREN GOLDSTEIN
14/11/2020
The Opening of the 26th World Zionist Congress in Jerusalem in 1964.
Sitting at the WZO table from the perspective of an Orthodox Jew

This WZO election proved it is time for Eretz HaKodesh to come to the table and represent a significant voice in the future of the Jewish people, both in the Diaspora and in Israel.

By ALEXANDRA FLEKSHER
14/11/2020
The reason why the Azerbaijan-Armenian ceasefire will last this time

What does Israel have to do with the Azerbaijan-Armenian ceasefire?

By GWYNNE DYER
14/11/2020
Who are the two competing parties waiting to govern Iran?

Little contact seems to exist between these two councils, both seeking essentially the same outcome for Iran: a democratic state.

Advice for Biden: ‘War is never inevitable’

Biden has the terrible dilemma of charting out the administration’s foreign policy with tremendous issues of war and peace at stake/

By ROY PINCHOT
14/11/2020
Israel must prepare for a change in US policy toward Iran

The possible change of leadership in the US is an opportunity for Israel to change course to a more appropriate policy also in terms of the Iranian challenge.

By NADAV TAMIR
14/11/2020
Yad Vashem needs to stay out of Likud's reach

Yad Vashem has to stay above politics and remain a place that is solely focused on preserving the memory of the victims of the most atrocious act of genocide perpetrated against the Jewish people.

A split congress is good for business and investments - opinion

The sun will rise even with a less business-friendly president.

By AARON KATSMAN
14/11/2020
Border Police go about coronavirus inspections in Mea Shearim, a haredi neighborhood in Jerusalem.
Netanyahu, crack down on Arab, haredi coronavirus violations

The whole country does not need to be under a nighttime curfew, as most Israelis adhere to the restrictions and regulations about holding large gatherings, wearing masks and personal responsibility.

Joe Biden is Israel's friend, but Trumpism is here to stay – opinion

We cannot admire the 74 million votes President-elect Joe Biden received without also being impressed with the staunch support President Donald Trump received from his supporters.

12/11/2020
Global legal insights into the suspension of Ant Financial – opinion

The suspension of the largest IPO in history contains a lesson about China

Hillel's Tech Corner: Juganu brings light to end of tunnel

Juganu is an Israeli start-up that transforms public spaces into safe environments through innovative light technology, and enables “healthier, safer brighter lives.”

12/11/2020
Calculating taxes
Recent roundup of Israeli taxation

By LEON HARRIS
12/11/2020
Nuance: The critical legacy of Rabbi Jonathan Sacks – opinion

On the heels of the US election, it has never been clearer that the world needs to hear and internalize the message that Rabbi Sacks both taught and modeled.

12/11/2020
The real lesson of Kristallnacht was the world's lack of reaction

Remarks by the World Jewish Congress president at the WJC Theodor Herzl Award Virtual Gala

Load more
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use