Opinion

Jerusalem Post's talented team of journalists provides insight into their work presented in the opinion section. This section highlights the beliefs and values that experienced writers who are witnessing the Middle East turmoil unfold. Their first hand encounters with world leaders have shaped their opinions and world views to be shared on this page.

International Criminal Court, The Hague

ICC investigating Israel for war crimes means US could be next - opinion

In choosing to prosecute Israel, the United States no longer has any guarantee that it can escape the grasp of the ICC’s grip.

By YARON BUSKILA
24/02/2021

Celebrating a coronavirus-inspired Purim - opinion

How best to enjoy the traditions as well as fulfill the commandments associated with Purim in this plague-filled year.

By BARRY NEWMAN
24/02/2021

Losing privacy: Has the media crossed the line with Ted Cruz? - opinion

Allowing this kind of intrusion into our personal lives without our permission is a clear manifestation of George Orwell’s predictions in his novel '1984.'

McConnell, Garland: The unintended consequences of new positions - opinion

Trump wants revenge, but McConnell may get the last laugh and Judge Garland may be the one to deliver it.

Artificial intelligence

Start-up uses AI to help marketers plan next moves as industry booms

Before COVID, people were choosing to “detox” from social media to help their mental and physical health, but in the last year, 346 million new users came online.

Why is KKL-JNF's plan to buy Palestinian land in West Bank controversial?

The executive committee of KKL-JNF has the right to approve the purchase of private Palestinian land in Area C, which comprises parts of the West Bank controlled by Israel.

Purim: Differentiating right from wrong in politics - opinion

It should not be so difficult to abhor Trump’s anti-democratic demagoguery yet applaud his toughness toward Iran.

23/02/2021

Jewish unity: Purim's long-lost message - opinion

This story could have ended in tragedy but because of the unity over self-defense, it did not.

By JOSHUA GOLDSTEIN
23/02/2021

Netanyahu's embrace of Rush Limbaugh is 'unsettling' - opinion

Defending against terrorism and fighting the calls for the destruction of the West from outside elements loudly contrast with the acceptance of caustic elements from within.

By DANIEL S. GROSS
23/02/2021
Bank Hapoalim

Coronavirus: When in-person contact is necessary for business

How to cope with the financial crisis and emerge from it even stronger.

By DUDU LEVY REICH
23/02/2021

Coronavirus: Israel should give Iran vaccines - opinion

The 'Cyrus Mercy Mission' would mean putting hostilities aside to cooperate during this mutual health crisis.

By VICTORIA COATES , LEN KHODORKOVSKY
23/02/2021

'We do not need to elect a messiah' - opinion

For God’s sake, Israelis deserve a government, let alone a better one.

By DAVID RAAB
23/02/2021
Comedians Michael Che and Colin Jost from the NBC series "Saturday Night Live: Weekend Update"

Response to Michael Che's SNL joke is unreasonable

If everything is antisemitic, then nothing is, so the appellation must be used sparingly.

Europe must unite against Hezbollah - opinion

For Hezbollah, mainland Europe has proven to be a serene staging ground for future bloodshed.

By TSVETAN TSVETANOV
22/02/2021

Coronavirus: Celebrating Purim in an upside-down world - opinion

We may not imbibe as much wine this year, but we may finally imbibe the true meaning of Purim.

By SHIMSHON HAKOHEN NADEL
22/02/2021

SNL’s Michael Che is not an antisemite - opinion

How can we have failed to inform mainstream African-American personalities like Michael Che of these truths about Israel?

OVERVIEW OF the Human Rights Council at the UNHRC

Can the US under Biden change the UNHRC? - opinion

Only a superpower like the United States can initiate change within the body.

By ITZHAK LEVANON
22/02/2021

Will Riyadh, Manama be Iran's next targets? - opinion

Iran is more patient than the West, willing to wait years for the right opportunity to pounce, and American policy-makers underestimate this desire to export its revolutionary message.

The IOC must act against human rights violations - opinion

It is respectable that the IOC does what they can to keep politics out of sport. Yet there are limits, and the situations in China and Iran are most certainly beyond politics.

Why Blue and White is the logical choice for Anglo voters

Benny Gantz was personally involved in all of our lives.

22/02/2021
A STILL IMAGE from ‘6480 Days’ by Ran Slavin.

Post-lockdown cultural ‘Transmission’

New Kibbutzim College Art Gallery exhibition in TA opens on Tuesday

THAMAR EILAM GINDIN: This is why the Rabbis decided to include the Book of Esther in the Thora

Behind the Book of Esther’s mask - A Purim story

Persian scholar explains how Purim was shaped by Near Eastern myths

On the fringes of ultra-Orthodox society

Government agencies have not geared up to effectively address the phenomenon of marginalized ultra-Orthodox youth, which carries with it the risk of more serious problems.

21/02/2021

Israel needs to be struck by ecological disaster to take action

President Reuven Rivlin, who also thanked the volunteers, said: “Now is the time for an urgent national plan before we face an unprecedented ecological disaster.”

Trump’s second acquittal from impeachment - Democracy or hypocrisy?

Can the 43 Republican senators who voted for acquittal be accused of hypocrisy, and do they pose a threat to democracy in the US?

Government transparency is crucial in a democracy - comment

In a democracy, the people are the sovereign power and they have the right to know what decisions their government is making.

Daniel Wise blowing shofar in Qatar

It’s the dawn of a new era for Jewish life in the Gulf - opinion

For those of us in Bahrain, this marks an important milestone as we will now have access to a rabbi who can come to Bahrain to officiate at Jewish life cycle events.

By HOUDA NONOO , ALEX PETERFREUND
20/02/2021

Dubai: The sheikh and his daughters - comment

The Sheikh has 25 children by his six wives, so he obviously loves children, but unaccountably his daughters keep trying to escape.

By GWYNNE DYER
20/02/2021

What is the right attitude for working in the UAE?

UAE’s work environment is defined as multicultural since only a small percentage of the workforce is local.

American and Israeli Jews [Illustrative]

What kind of Jew are you? - comment

We need new categories that faithfully reflect the way American Jewish life is actually lived.

By STEPHEN J. SAVITSKY
20/02/2021
Ultra orthodox Jews

Remaining apolitical is like dancing at Orthodox wedding - opinion

Mostly that’s a good thing. We didn’t always enjoy freedom of speech as a people and perhaps now we’re making up for lost time.

By ANDY GOLDSMITH
20/02/2021
From left to right: Rep. Ayanna Pressley, Rep. Ilhan Omar, President Donald Trump, Rep. Alexandria O

The toll of democratic regression on Israel - opinion

A-liberal leaders and political parties have tightened their hold on power over the past two decades in many countries, Israel included.

By EYAL RONEN , ROEE KIBRIK
20/02/2021

The real message Netanyahu should take from Biden's phone call

On the surface, the phone call was not really that important.

18/02/2021

Welcome to UAE's ambassador to Israel

The exchange of diplomats is an important step in the right direction.

Calculating taxes

Investment: If you get letter that US broker is closing account

It is the most wonderful feeling in the world, knowing you are loved and wanted. –Jayne Mansfield

By AARON KATSMAN
18/02/2021

Hillel's Tech Corner: accessiBe: The web made accessible

Web accessibility is both a legal requirement and a moral obligation for companies with online presence.

18/02/2021
Calculating taxes

OECD discusses: Will COVID-19 change your tax status?

This updates earlier OECD comments in April 2020, when we all thought the pandemic would soon disappear

By LEON HARRIS
18/02/2021

How did Zionist symbol KKL-JNF become an organization that hurts Israel?

We need to break this cycle, for the sake of Israel and our relationships with our friends and partners around the world.

18/02/2021

The Biden administration’s moral compass on Israel - opinion

In the new administration’s view, building kindergartens for Jewish children in Judea is just as big of a peace deterrent as the Palestinian Authority’s “Pay for Slay” program.

18/02/2021

Israel Elections: Michaeli the only true opposition to Netanyahu - opinion

I’m much more optimistic than others who only foresee a bleak future.

18/02/2021

Mourning the loss of Israel's last pioneers - opinion

The three took part in the work of settling and building the country, laying the foundations and pillars upon which Israeli society was built.

Coronavirus: Having a happy, but muted, Purim - opinion

I think we will defeat COVID-19. But I think it is premature to believe that we have already beaten the beast.

By MICAH D. HALPERN
18/02/2021

Remembering Moshko, builder of Israel - opinion

Moshe ‘Moshko’ Moskowitz lived to see many of his far-reaching plans fulfilled

My Word: The Middle East muddles on

The world is a very different place today than it was when Biden started his bid for the US presidency and when Netanyahu failed to create a viable government coalition in April 2019.

A BRILLIANT future: Purim masks on sale at Jerusalem’s Mahaneh Yehuda marke

Coronavirus: Masking the message of Purim - opinion

“If someone had said two months ago that in [such a] situation we would open the economy, I would have called [him] crazy.”

18/02/2021
Iranian President Hassan Rouhani speaks during the cabinet meeting in Tehran, Iran, March 4, 2020

Will Iran's 'step-by-step' strategy succeed with Biden? - opinion

The reality is that the mullahs are not able to read the signals of the new US administration. They continue to deal with President Biden as an extension of former president Barack Obama.

By SALEM ALKETBI
17/02/2021

Why should we go back to synagogue? - Opinion

When it’s safe to return, why would we go back?

By RABBI YOSIE LEVINE/JTA
17/02/2021
US President Joe Biden visits the State Department, Washington

Biden doesn't want to sit through a lecture by Netanyahu - opinion

Biden has a full load of issues, problems and leftover Trump detritus to deal with.

International Criminal Court

Standing with Israel against the ICC boosts credibility

It is heartening to see some countries taking a principled stand and making it clear that the ICC has overstepped its bounds.

Left: a noose hung by rioters on January 6, 2021, in Washington, DC. Right: a man wearing a "Camp Au

Talking to children about antisemitism, hate crimes - opinion

For the last 20 years I lived in Capitol Hill, a bucolic neighborhood in Washington, DC – surely a place with no open antisemitism, right? Wrong.

17/02/2021

Who is Itamar Ben-Gvir, the loyal student of Meir Kahane? - opinion

He presents himself regularly as being a follower of Kahane and speaks passionately about Kahane at annual memorial ceremonies for his rabbi and teacher.

My son, Mohammed El Halabi, is innocent of funding Hamas - opinion

My son has been in jail for nearly five years and has suffered through a record 155 court appearances without any credible proof being presented.

By KHALIL EL HALABI
17/02/2021
Taliban chief negotiator Mullah Abdul Ghani Baradar (front) leaves after peace talks with Afghan sen

Are the Taliban to be trusted? - opinion

Will Biden rethink a deal that many in Kabul see as giving too much away to the Taliban?

A doctor’s view of closing down in the coronavirus pandemic - opinion

I cannot imagine what level of indifference toward its citizens a government must reach when they put playing basketball above reuniting families.

By YITZCHAK SOLOVEICHIK
17/02/2021
GREEK PRIME MINISTER Kyriakos Mitsotakis waves during a visit to Israel in June.

Israel-Greece tourism agreement is a loss for Israel - opinion

Deal opens door for Israeli tourists to visit Greece very soon but hurts Israel’s tourism industry, trade deficit and public health

View of Mount Hermon covered with snow as it seen from the northern Golan Heights, near the border w

The cleansing snow comes to Jerusalem at the perfect time

The relatively rare meteorological annoyance or delight – depending on how you look at it – of a snowstorm could be arriving at a perfect time for us.

Daily Blood Libel: Jews won’t vaccinate Palestinians – NOT! - opinion

To medieval Jesus-loving Christians, we were Christ-killers. And now, Jews cause natural disasters, too – from outer space no less.

17/02/2021

President Biden, restoring world order and its impact on Israel - opinion

in a world order where the liberal-democratic ethos is regnant once again, the Israeli government may find itself faced with increasing difficulties on a whole range of issues.

By AVI GIL
16/02/2021

Shira Isakov and the need for ‘aguna’ reform - opinion

The plight of the aguna cannot be ignored and we are failing our women – all of society, indeed we are failing God – if we simply throw up our hands and let this situation be allowed to continue.

By KENNETH BRANDER
16/02/2021

Justice delayed long enough in World Vision Hamas case

Halabi, who has been jailed ever since his arrest almost five years ago, was charged with using World Vision as a front for funneling money for Hamas terrorist operations.

Trump's second impeachment trial an assault on the presidency - opinion

Little is known of the riot even today.

By EFRAIM A. COHEN
15/02/2021

Senator McConnell’s vote on impeachment reveals cowardice - opinion

It doesn’t take a lawyer to see that Trump urged his supporters to try and overturn the election results through public disruption.

By JORDAN BARKIN
15/02/2021

Time to change budget priorities, protect Israel's socially disadvantaged

Now, when elections are underway, we must ensure a social budget, a budget mainly focused on education and narrowing gaps

I am proud of Israel, sad over lack of formal Venezuela ties - opinion

I am proud of Israel and, therefore, assume that it values right above might, freedom above tyranny, morality above material interests.

By PYNCHAS BRENNER
15/02/2021

What is the role of the artist activist? - opinion

The true artist expresses, narrates, conveys, while purging and cleansing from an inner core to achieve stasis until the torrent washes over once again.

Jeremy Saltan

Israel Elections: Lack of Anglo representation is an insult - opinion

Saltan’s article was transparently political and self-promotional for him as a candidate for Naftali Bennett’s Yamina Party.

Why are Jewish groups fighting the IHRA antisemitism definition? - opinion

The attempts by these political groups to advance their agenda by twisting the purpose of the IHRA framework is in fact an attempt to legitimize antisemitism.

Netanyahu package deal: Haredi autonomy, Kahanists in gov't - opinion

You want Bibi as prime minister, you’ll get the ultra-Orthodox continuing to live as a separate state-within-a-state, and you’ll have the Jewish equivalent of the Ku Klux Klan in government.

By PAUL GROSS
15/02/2021

The legacy of Jewish crusade against racial injustice - opinion

Black-Jewish relations is not something new to me. It’s something I’ve been passionate about my whole life.

Shattuck invests in green energy firm Nostromo

The technology solves the growing global problem of continuous electricity supply due to consumption peaks.

Yemeni Information Minister: Restore the Houthi terrorist designation

The American decision sent the wrong signals to the Houthi militia and its Iranian patrons.

By MOAMMAR AL-ERYANI / SPECIAL TO THE MEDIA LINE
15/02/2021
The Instagram application is seen on a phone screen August 3, 2017.

Israeli company fixes what has been broken in influencer marketing

Trust Humanz leverages AI to make influencer marketing accessible, reliable and trustworthy for marketers and influencers

A WOMAN YELLS as she stands near her destroyed house in Beit Hanun, in the northern Gaza Strip in 20

ICC decision clarifies: Israel needs a robust legal strategy

The decision raises three important questions: Is it actually significant? How will the court likely proceed from here? And how should Israel now plan ahead?

By DAPHNÉ RICHEMOND-BARAK
14/02/2021
A CORONAVIRUS-SHAPED balloon floats on the Yarkon River in Tel Aviv on Friday.

What Israel needs to address to recover from the pandemic - opinion

It’s obvious to all of us that things could be much better. So how do we make that happen?

IT IS currently very difficult to predict how this mishmash of parties will emerge from the election

Election blues: What is in store this time around?

Around half the electorate wants to see Benjamin Netanyahu replaced as prime minister.

Israel needs to incentivize inoculation - opinion

The key to success is positive reinforcement.

View of Paris, France and the Eiffel Tower

With US cold shoulder, should Israel now pivot towards France? - analysis

Yes, France, that country which many Israelis eye suspiciously dating back to Charles de Gaulle’s arms embargo just prior to the 1967 Six Day War.

14/02/2021

Amicable solutions for Ethiopia-Sudan border problem

I believe that Israel should take advantage of its historical and long-standing ties with Ethiopia- a friend to the people and government of Israel.

By FASIL LEGESSE
14/02/2021

Likud alliance with Religious Zionist party is unholy - editorial

This is bad for the country and particularly for our democracy.

RUSSIAN PRESIDENT Vladimir Putin shakes hands with Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu during a meetin

Israel responds to global changes without a vision - opinion

It is important that Israel’s sense of self-confidence, partially understood, will not delude Israeli decision-makers of Israel’s ‘natural size’.

KOSOVAR PRIME MINISTER Avdullah Hoti gestures during a campaign rally in Peja, Kosovo

Kosovo must present a plan to become a true independent state - opinion

Those who want to reach the pinnacle of power must understand that they need to use their power to serve the people, not to exploit those who gave them power.

The PA rejects Clinton parameters 20 years later - opinion

It is time we face the truth.

By BERNARD BOHBOT
13/02/2021
A TECHNICIAN works in the Breast Cancer Research Lab, Hadassah University Medical Center, Jerusalem

Cancer, 10 years later: I am not the story of my life - opinion

What comes after being diagnosed with both metastatic pancreatic cancer and metastatic kidney cancer?

13/02/2021
AUSCHWITZ

Diplomats worldwide go digital to honor Int'l Holocaust Remembrance Day

International Holocaust Remembrance Day is observed by many states and diplomatic institutions.

13/02/2021
Knesset Central Elections Committee Director Orly Adas counts ballots of voters in quarantine.

Im Tirzu is 'protecting, not preempting' Israel's election - opinion

Chairman of the board of Im Tirzu responds to concerns over the right-wing watchdog's actions

Auschwitz-Birkenau

Russian ambassador to Japan: Comparing USSR, Nazi Germany is outrageous

'You got it wrong': Russia’s ambassador to Japan responds to an article published by foreign ministers of Japan and Lithuania on International Holocaust Remembrance Day

By MIKHAIL GALUZIN
13/02/2021
Load more
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use