Opinion

Jerusalem Post's talented team of journalists provides insight into their work presented in the opinion section. This section highlights the beliefs and values that experienced writers who are witnessing the Middle East turmoil unfold. Their first hand encounters with world leaders have shaped their opinions and world views to be shared on this page.

Hillel's Tech Corner: Neura - Our future depends on us

Neura developed a technology that helps policymakers, health organizations and decision makers navigate the coronavirus pandemic.

24/09/2020
Why Qatar should not be designated an ally of the United States

Doha, alongside Ankara, is undermining American interests in the Middle East.

ISRAELIS DEMONSTRATE against the three-week nationwide lockdown and Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyah
Ehud Olmert to 'Post': Political power is in reckless hands

The State of Israel is being led by a person who is incapable of, and has no interest in making a distinction between the needs of the country and the basic values upon which it must be based.

24/09/2020
America has fueled its freedom in Middle East

Recent American diplomacy has helped eradicate the antiquated, ill-informed, anti-Israel, Arab League policies of the past.

By HAROLD HAMM/FRED ZEIDMAN/JOHN MCNABB
24/09/2020
Understanding Kol Nidre, its draw, it beauty, its true colors

The Kol Nidre prayer is one of the most authentic, meaningful and moving moments of the year, and not just for observant Jews. However, it does not have any significance according to Jewish law.

By RONEN NEUWIRTH
24/09/2020
Israel's political wars have become that of religious wars

In recent years, and with even greater intensity when coming up against the coronavirus pandemic in the last few months, Israeli politics has turned religious.

Grapevine, September 25, 2020: A thought for the aged

People who have survived into old age should not be ignored or discarded.

My Word: Words and prayers from a pandemic bubble

That phrase “I prayed in a bubble” would have been incomprehensible last Rosh Hashanah. The year 2020 has created its own time capsule and traditions.

ISRAEL HAS to examine carefully how much the US wants to sell the F35 to the UAE.
Amid national unrest, the biggest problem we have: there is no trust

Trust is almost impossible to find anywhere – not between the government and the people; not between the different parties in the government; and not between the different sectors of society.

25/09/2020
Amid coronavirus, this year's Yom Kippur is another kind of war

Most of the country is focused on the current battle against the COVID-19 pandemic – or, rather, on the fever-pitch fighting within the government about how to curb the alarming rise in morbidity.

24/09/2020
Do we deserve a corona discount?

However, the corona discount isn’t a “markdown” validating lesser versions of teshuva; it also provides a discount or a rebate during our sentencing for the upcoming year.

By MOSHE TARAGIN
24/09/2020
Disabled activists block the Azrieli Junction in Tel Aviv in May.
Here’s how to get unemployed Israelis with disabilities back to work

66% of Israeli workers with disabilities were either fired or laid off from their jobs since the beginning of the pandemic.

By CHAIM PERKAL
23/09/2020
Young ultra-orthodox women ride through Hayarkon Park in Tel Aviv.
How haredi women can help the Israeli health system

Among the graduates of the haredi educational system lays a huge group of untapped excellent human resource potential.

By ELI PALEY
23/09/2020
US President Donald Trump listens to Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell (R-KY) speak about legis
If Biden wins, he'll have to get around Senator Mitch McConnell

Defeating McConnell has been the Democrats’ second-highest priority.

ISRAEL HAS to examine carefully how much the US wants to sell the F35 to the UAE.
Calculating the risks of selling the F-35 to the UAE

Israel has to take into account several factors.

24/09/2020
JOINT LIST MKs (from left) Mtanes Shehadeh, Ayman Odeh and Ahmad Tibi, and former MK Abd al-Hakeem H
An Arab-Israeli take on the Abraham Accords

“The Palestinians will get on the train ... It will just not happen at the very first stop.”

The United Arab Emirates and Israel share the values of coexistence

The United Arab Emirates and Israel are among the countries in the region most concerned with coexistence and the pursuit of peace and stability.

By SALEM AL KETBI
23/09/2020
BAHRAIN’S CROWN Prince Salman bin Hamad Al-Khalifa (left) shakes hands with Shimon Peres as former P
The coming out of the Israel-Bahrain clandestine relationship

Bilateral relations, both open and secret, picked up pace after the turn of the millennium.

23/09/2020
The lockdown aid package is welcome, but more must be done

The government must do much more to ease the economic burden of the many Israelis harmed by the lockdown.

Mayim Bialik on what Yom Kippur, Book of Jonah mean in 2020 – opinion

This year, as we do every year, we will read the Book of Jonah on Yom Kippur afternoon. It’s the one about the guy who gets swallowed by a big fish.

By MAYIM BIALIK/JTA
23/09/2020
Avi Gabbay (left) and Ambassador to France, Eric Danon.
Grapevine, September 23, 2020: Fast lane diplomacy

The movers and shakers of Israeli society.

TURKISH PRESIDENT Recep Tayyip Erdogan
Turkey’s relationship with ISIS proves it's deserting its European allies

ISIS was so successful in 2014 in part because Turkey's President Erdoğan is a vocal supporter of the Muslim Brotherhood.

ISRAELIS DEMONSTRATE against the three-week nationwide lockdown and Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyah
Who benefits from the coronavirus crisis?

Unless there is a rational, coherent, long-term strategy for how to handle this crisis, we will just keep sputtering along, inflicting pain for no purpose.

An earnest plea to rabbis for non-partisan sermons this Yom Kippur

To American Jewish rabbis, Left and Right: this Yom Kippur, please don’t waste your prime sermon time on partisanship.

22/09/2020
Israel's Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, United Arab Emirates (UAE) Foreign Minister Abdullah bin
The European Union should follow the UAE's example on Israel relations

By decoupling Israel from Palestine and treating each on their own merits, the UAE and Bahrain have gained much - and others can do the same.

JAPAN’S FORMER prime minister Shinzo Abe visits the Anne Frank House museum in Amsterdam in 2014.
Shinzo Abe boosted Japan’s ties to Jews, Israel

Will Japan’s next leader echo these warm views on the Jews and Israel?

By DYLAN ADELMAN
21/09/2020
TURKISH PRESIDENT Recep Tayyip Erdogan greets Iranian President Hassan Rouhani in Ankara, September
What’s behind the Ankara-Tehran partnership?

Although Iran and Turkey have collaborated recently, the two authoritarian states often find themselves on conflicting sides of regional clashes.

By MAYA CARLIN
21/09/2020
Why the courage to confront Iran matters

The US is precisely right to take extreme action against Iran.

Britain’s Prime Minister Boris Johnson
Boris Johnson’s cunning plan to break the EU treaty

Did he not understand what the treaty said?

By GWYNNE DYER
21/09/2020
Orthodox Jews pray while performing the Tashlich ceremony, on a hill over the beach in Kiryat Yam, n
One God: Judaism’s unique view of the world and mankind

Why is the idea of one God so important, and is it unique to Judaism?

23/09/2020
Peace will only come when the faiths of Jews and Arabs are acknowledged

“If religion is part of the problem, then it must necessarily be part of the solution.”

By YAKOV NAGEN
22/09/2020
Palestinians protest the recent peace deals struck between Israel, the UAE and Bahrain.
The Middle East peace deals are welcome news in what has been a bad year

There is no doubt that the agreements are another small step forward toward a change in the balance of powers in the Middle East to Israel’s benefit.

US DEMOCRATIC PRESIDENTIAL candidate Joe Biden arrives at a campaign event in Hermantown, Minnesota,
Love for Israel is not enough. A vote for pro-Israel candidates is needed

Jewish voters' love for Israel in their hearts needs to translate through to the ballot box.

By ARDIE GELDMAN
21/09/2020
The choice before electors is clear: It's Trump, or the Republic

Undoubtedly characterized by authoritarian leaders as a “useful idiot,” Moscow must have kompromat on Trump.

By KEITH LEPOR
23/09/2020
Malka Leifer, An Ultra orthodox teacher wanted in Australia for child sex abuse, seen on a screen vi
The ruling to extradite Malka Leifer takes us one step closer to justice

Leifer is expected to appeal to the Supreme Court. If that fails, she will finally be on her way to Australia.

Protesters rally in front of Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu's Jerusalem residency, calling for hi
The decision to halt protests during lockdown shows national solidarity

Stopping the protests for a few weeks is not the end of democracy.

Remembering Fink's in Jerusalem, politicians, celebrities dined there

Over the decades, it hosted journalists, politicians, writers and celebrities of every kind. You never knew who you were going to meet.

By GEORGE MEDOVOY
20/09/2020
We're zooming in to Jewish services, but somehow tuning out

The use of virtual means to conduct religious services, even where Halacha does not permit it, is a cause for real concern.

By LEVI SHEMTOV
20/09/2020
Iran’s virtue-signaling with the Palestinian cause

Iranian mullahs provide large sums of money to Palestinian organizations such as Hamas, among others. But the cash does not go to the Palestinian people; it funds Iran’s regional expansion project.

By SALEM AL KETBI
20/09/2020
Teen depression
Advice for making Aliyah with mental illness

Because immigration can be a challenging and stressful period in a person’s life, it is important to be in a stable place with one’s psychiatric treatment in the months before moving.

By JACOB L. FREEDMAN
20/09/2020
Iran's ayatollahs are entrenched because we are silent - opinion

We cannot advance against the ayatollahs and other jihadis unless we overcome that “nameless, unreasoning, unjustified terror” that now paralyzes our thought and speech.

By LEV TSITRIN
21/09/2020
Great education can bring together online and off-line experiences

Forward-thinking education models can take advantage of the benefits of both online and off-line learning, as well as the unique synergy of their combination.

Years after 9/11 and apologetic tropes for terrorism go on, let's speak up

Of course anti-Muslim bigotry must be guarded against, but we can call out such bigotry while also speaking clearly about the need to fight and counter radicalism wherever it rears its ugly head.

By MAX KLINGER
20/09/2020
El Al plane
A letter to El Al’s new owner, Eli Rozenberg

Never being a believer of everything I read in the papers, I will take with a grain of salt your comments on two of your goals for El Al: punctuality and upgrading food services.

COMMUNICATIONS MINISTER and Derech Eretz Party chairman Yoaz Hendel.
Knesset Cabinet approves fiber optics enterprise

In areas where fiber optics have been introduced, the number of start-ups increased by 5%, the cost of living fell drastically and peripheral areas were significantly strengthened.

By YOAZ HENDEL
17/09/2020
Israeli police officers take out ultra-Orthodox Jewish men from the Ponevezh Yeshiva in Bnei Brak, a
The coronavirus and Israeli Kulturkampf

Peace agreements are no substitute for public health, for jobs and for social solidarity.

Keeping it simple: The Shofar and investments

Everyone else thinks it’s “gross”. Well if any family members are reading this, how about throwing me a bone this year and make some honey cake for me!”

By AARON KATSMAN
17/09/2020
What can we do together on Rosh Hashanah?

As parents and children, citizens and Jews, we need to consider how we will adapt to our surroundings. We need to focus on what we can control in how we celebrate these auspicious days.

By BENJI LEVY
17/09/2020
Ehud Olmert to 'Post': Rosh Hashanah is Without joy or hope

What logic is this decision based upon? Why is the closure scheduled to last two to three weeks and not two to three months? What public health logic justifies closure in the first place?

17/09/2020
Belkin Laser: Glaucoma care in a matter of seconds

The complexities of the eye bring with it challenges that accompany medical conditions that pertain to our eyesight and the functionality of the eye, conditions such as glaucoma.

17/09/2020
Calculating taxes
Your taxes: Corona business update

Claim at the relevant governmental (usually the Israel Tax Authority) website and give your bank account details, otherwise you might miss out. Delays are occurring. Mistakes can now be appealed.

By LEON HARRIS
17/09/2020
Do we want to be alone?

The story of the Akeidah and Rosh Hashanah 5781.

By AARON KOLLER
17/09/2020
Left-wing trying to pour cold water on the peace accords -opinion

The Left can’t acknowledge Netanyahu’s historic achievement of peace with the Gulf states.

Biblical scenes are playing out before our eyes

Abraham had two sons: Ishmael, born to Hagar, and Isaac, born to Sarah. There was clear tension between the two.

20/09/2020
My Word: Prayers, peace, politics and a pandemic

Last year, we hadn’t heard of COVID-19, the novel coronavirus; this year, there was no escape.

Walking in Jerusalem ahead of the September lockdown.
This Rosh Hashanah, let’s strive to be better

There is fear because we don’t really know how the country will look when we emerge, what the economy will look like, and whether we will still have jobs.

17/09/2020
Trumping Palestinian lies and Tehran’s agenda

In one fell swoop, Trump set the record straight about Israel and its neighbors.

17/09/2020
Lockdown is an opportunity to take responsibility over coronavirus

Let’s follow the government’s new regulations as best as we can, with the hope that we will emerge with a dramatic decrease in the number of infections after the holidays.

The chapters of history are written in our homes - opinion

This centrality of the home and of family comes into renewed focus on Rosh Hashanah.

Women Western Wall
Lessons for the upcoming Elul

The lesson then is how to prepare for anything when we live in such an uncertain world.

By BETH KISSILEFF/JTA
16/09/2020
How the Shofar is used on Shabbat

Why is the shofar blown during the preceding month of Elul?

YAHYA SINWAR, the leader of Hamas in Gaza, has proven more than once he is pragmatic and is willing
Hamas officials are the masters of negotiation - opinion

After every major armed conflict with Israel, Hamas emerged seemingly victorious from post-ceasefire negotiations.

By GRISHA YAKUBOVICH
16/09/2020
Who is betraying whom with the UAE-Israel agreement?

By normalizing relations with Israel, Iran and Turkey proclaimed, the United Arab Emirates and Bahrain had betrayed the Palestinians.

The agreement may have advanced Shimon Peres' vision of peace

Peres would have leveraged the Israel-UAE agreement to promote Israeli-Palestinian peacemaking.

By NADAV TAMIR
16/09/2020
Democratic US presidential candidate Joe Biden at a campaign event in Wilmington, Delaware, U.S., Ju
Netanyahu should have met with Joe Biden during US visit

Israel has thrived because it has enjoyed bipartisan support in the United States for the vast majority of the past 72 years.

The conspiracy theory of the UAE-Israel agreement

The Arab leaders who have recognized and normalized with Israel have stated they have not betrayed the Palestinians. Do they know something that we do not know?

Does Donald Trump ‘endanger’ Jews? - opinion

His own secretary of state echoed a warning about authoritarians elsewhere, but the words resounded in our own roiling political climate.

The flags of the United States, Israel, United Arab Emirates and Bahrain are projected on a section
Back home, a muted celebration - comment

Instead of reveling in regional peace, many Israelis are wondering how they’re going to pay their rent, mortgage and provide holiday meals.

16/09/2020
BANK HAPOALIM’S (from left) Roni Garfunkel, Naama Halevi-Peer, Ronit Meiri and Ofer Semo deliver foo
Grapevine, September 16, 2020: Focus on Jerusalem

The movers and shakers of Israeli society.

THERE IS now a broad social realization that the elderly are the main risk group that needs to be pr
We can do more to help the elderly cope with the COVID-19 crisis

There is now a broad social realization that the elderly are the main risk group that needs to be protected.

By ILIA STAMBLER
15/09/2020
Orthodox Jews pray while performing the Tashlich ceremony, on a hill over the beach in Kiryat Yam, n
CoroRosh Hashanah: 5780 has been a year to absorb - and to sift

Especially at this complex crossroads, amid mass confusion, concern and despair, Rosh Hashanah can overwhelm.

15/09/2020
Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and Alternate Prime Minister and Defense Minister Benny Gantz.
This Rosh Hashanah, pray for a true unity government

On Rosh Hashanah we should pray God makes our selfish leaders realize they must change their behavior and set aside their personal political interests.

15/09/2020
Israel's Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu, United Arab Emirates (UAE) Foreign Minister Abdullah bin
To Israel, the UAE and Bahrain: Mazal Tov. Mabruk.

“Instead of focusing on past conflicts, people are now focused on creating a vibrant future filled with endless possibilities.”

Why did a university invite a Palestinian terrorist to speak?

TWA flight 741 was one of three planes successfully hijacked by the Popular Front for the Liberation of Palestine that day — the hijacking of an El Al plane was foiled by the onboard sky marshals.

By MOSHE RAAB
15/09/2020
This Rosh Hashanah we need to respect others - and wear a mask

There was none to be found. He should have been told that only mask-wearers were permitted in that synagogue. He should have been asked to leave. But he wasn’t and he didn’t. Instead, I did.

Understanding God's role as we enter lockdown before Rosh Hashanah

There were those who taught that God controls whatever happens, and those who were taught that the world functions in accord with the arbitrary rules of nature irrespective of human comportment.

Children are returning to school in Israel amid the coronavirus pandemic. August 24, 2020.
Following new gov' decisions, it's up to us now to beat the coronavirus

As the country’s coronavirus commissioner Ronni Gamzu said Sunday, paraphrasing John F. Kennedy, ask not what the government can do to beat corona, ask what you can do to beat corona.

Pomegranates seen piled up at Machane Yehuda market, just in time for Rosh Hashana.
Rosh Hashanah and the art of self re-creation - living vs. existing

Those who live without renewing themselves may be described more accurately as existing rather than living.

The problem with normalizing TikTok - opinion

Apps like TikTok are giving children the tools to be sexually exploited without them even realizing, and it’s shaping Gen Z in an alarming way we need to address.

Justice for Umm Al Hiran would be true apology - opinion

The time has come to honor the memory of Yakub Abu Al Qian by acting justly towards his living family members.

Trump’s Balkan agreement does Israel more harm than good - opinion

We do not know if Serbia or Kosovo will ever open embassies in Jerusalem. What we do know is that Israel is diplomatically weaker now than it was before the agreement was signed.

By ARTHUR KOLL
15/09/2020
The disabled need more help during the High Holy Days - opinion

Please don’t assume that people with disabilities will want to just stay at home because of the difficulties this year.

computer
TECH TALK:The next step in the evolution of finance

The financial crisis of 2008 highlighted the need to adapt the global financial system to the 21st century.

Stem cells, like Rosh Hashanah, give the opportunity to be reborn

Rosh Hashanah is the 'Harat Olam' – the pregnancy of the world. It is our responsibility to pray that this pregnancy will be the best it can be.

By YITZHAK NERIYA
14/09/2020
Israeli initiative aims to protect urban wild plants

Ringer sees great importance in preserving urban wild plants, often referred to as “weeds,” or “nuisances,” unwelcome in gardens and public spaces.

By RACHELI WACKS , ZAVIT/SCIENCE , ENVIRONMENT NEWS AGENCY
14/09/2020
Important dates to know on Israel-Bahrain relations

In 2019 a delegation from Israel’s Foreign Ministry was invited to participate in a conference on entrepreneurship in Manama.

Palestinian Prime Minister Mohammad Shtayyeh speaks before the start of the weekly cabinet meeting i
Palestinian rejectionism of the UAE-Bahrain-Israel deal and peace

As long as the Palestinian leadership rejects peace, the Palestinian people should reject their leadership.

Dates from time of Maccabees & Jesus are revived, bring Jewish, Arab unity

Grown at the Arava Institute with its Palestinian, Israeli and Jordanian student body, the 'Methuselah' and 'Hannah' dates show the potential for renewal, like Ezekiel’s vision of the dry bones.

Load more
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use