Opinion

Jerusalem Post's talented team of journalists provides insight into their work presented in the opinion section. This section highlights the beliefs and values that experienced writers who are witnessing the Middle East turmoil unfold. Their first hand encounters with world leaders have shaped their opinions and world views to be shared on this page.

Emergency departments in public hospitals must be strengthened - opinion

About a third (one million) of the patients are admitted to the various departments of the hospitals, and the rest are discharged to either go home or to various institutions.

By AZIZ DARAWSHA
01/03/2021
BLACK LIVES matter to Jews. A rabbi carries a sign supporting Black Lives Matter at a rally in Washi

Black Lives Matter: Listen to Biden, reject hatred from Sarsour - opinion

Take President Biden’s advice on both counts. Let’s together engage in a moment of unity.

A man enters the main branch of Bank Hapoalim, Israel's biggest bank, in Tel Aviv, Israel July 18, 2

Why now is the time to invest in enhancing customer experience

How to cope from the coronavirus crisis and emerge even stronger.

By DUDU LEVY REICH
01/03/2021

Rivlin hosts 90th anniversary of founding Irgun Zvai Leumi (Etzel)

Etzel is most famously known for the bombing of the King David Hotel on July 22, 1946

A NATO for the Middle East

Isn’t it time to combine the monumental struggle against Iran with this blossoming Arab-Israeli partnership?

MK NAFTALI BENNETT in the Knesset – he spoiled it all.

Naftali Bennett: The kingmaker who will not be king - opinion

What may leave Bennett in the status of kingmaker is the fact that as long as Netanyahu’s only chance to form the next government rests on the possibility that Bennett will join the coalition.

Yesh Atid's Yair Lapid willing to cooperate with Arab parties

Lapid’s answer is a positive sea-change in the political discourse surrounding the Joint Arab List.

01/03/2021
Boycott, Divestment and Sanctions Movement, also known as BDS.

German ‘cultural leaders’ and the anti-anti boycott campaign - comment

The Weltoffenheit campaign is well-financed, in order to gain wide publicity and impact, although the list of funders, as is often the case, particularly in Germany, is not transparent.

Our government cares only about its own power - opinion

Public trust in the government is shockingly low, and why shouldn’t it be, with how our government officials behave?

Protektzia at the airport: solidarity’s antithesis - Analysis

Protektzia has long been a fixture of Israeli life, but not a constructive fixture contributing to equality or fairness.

28/02/2021

Government rules on the coronavirus have been a farce

The banning of public transport to one city alone on Sunday served as a collective punishment and led to a situation in which soldiers could not return home from base to visit their families.

Gay Pride march

Equality must be upheld by the Israeli court - opinion

The state’s current policy allows adoption by same-sex couples but raises a number of hurdles that cause substantial delays and awkward transition periods.

Labor leader Merav Michaeli affixes a Mezuza outside her party's new campaign headquarters

Israeli Elections: A labor of love? - comment

Having the rare quality of being both an honest and courageous politician, Merav Michaeli has become a hot favorite on the international Zoom circuit.

The case for a Syrian democratic republic - comment

President Bashar Assad remains ruler of a shattered nation. Assad’s party – the Arab Socialist Ba’ath Party (ASBP) – continues to assert dominance over 60% of the country.

The harmful effect of despair on Israel’s Left - opinion

During my time working alongside Shimon Peres, I often heard him say that despair was not a work plan.

27/02/2021

The role of Polish diplomats in saving Jews - comment

What is not well known is the role of some Polish diplomats in trying to stem the German genocide of Jews, by applying some unorthodox diplomatic means to save them.

By MORDECAI PALDIEL
27/02/2021
THE MUNICIPALITY is keen for Jerusalemites to get out and about over the Purim weekend.

Purim: A four-point plan for embracing uncertainty - comment

Think about what we are all grappling with at the moment: the pervading sense we have is of living in a world of uncertainty.

Hundreds of Fellowship volunteers visit 1,500 lonely elderly on Purim

Hugging and kissing during Purim - comment

Our body movements, our small and big gestures to salute someone deserve close attention, and even more so during these absurd times in which we have been stuck for the last 12 months.

By CLAUDINE KORALL
27/02/2021

Why are Jews attracted to Florida?

Why are Jews attracted to this place? A better question might be: How the hell did we end up in the Middle East?!

By KEN GRUBER
27/02/2021

Israel Elections: Amid calls to drop out, Gantz faces his moment of truth

It seem like Gantz is a set of brakes and Netanyahu is the gas pedal – and who would you prefer?

26/02/2021
Kleenex coronavirus mask

What high priest’s holy garments teach on importance of masks - opinion

While we might assume that these garments are ceremonial and exist for the purpose of honoring the priests, we learn at the end of the chapter that this clothing is, in fact, protective.

By RABBI EMILY COHEN/JTA
26/02/2021

Palestinian lies, American delusions on solving the conflict - opinion

US President Joe Biden signals a backslide to the tired, old, false paradigms relating to the Middle East.

25/02/2021

Israel needs to clarify what's happening with the airport

The public needs to know that if we are being kept at home and not allowed to travel, others are properly quarantining and properly being tested and tracked

NBA has gone small: Should your portfolio? - opinion

While basketball has gone small, the investing world has gone the opposite direction.

By AARON KATSMAN
25/02/2021

Hillel's Tech Corner: StoreDot: Batteries for 2021

Battery anxiety when your phone is about to run out has become a thing. Don’t pretend you don’t know what I’m talking about.

25/02/2021
US. Federal Reserve Chair Janet Yellen holds a news conference following the two-day Federal Open Ma

US Treasury Secretary Janet Yellen’s international tax policy

What does Yellen stand for? How will it affect US olim and international business?

By LEON HARRIS
25/02/2021

Biden should leverage Trump's successes for Middle East's future - opinion

If we examine Trump’s policies through an Israeli filter, we will see that his actions have helped to stabilize the Middle East and correct past mistakes.

25/02/2021

Iran deal: Insufficient diplomatic strength to stop Tehran - opinion

The old Iran nuclear deal had other serious defects that needed to be fixed, but it did not appear that these changes were going to happen.

25/02/2021

Israel Elections: Stop blaming Gantz, unite to fight the Right - opinion

What would we have done if we had not had responsible leaders like Gantz and Ashkenazi in our government?

25/02/2021

Supporting the KKL-JNF’s Judea and Samaria policies - opinion

Assuming a KKL-JNF vote will lead to the changes feared by Jacobs, including the endangerment of a two-state solution, then my response would be a resounding “Hallelujah!”

25/02/2021

Coronavirus Purim: Lessons learned from the pandemic - opinion

The contrast between this Purim and last couldn’t be more pronounced.

By ZVI GLUCK
25/02/2021
PURIM IS the time for a party, with good-value wine. The Selected brand of Carmel Winery, 50 years

Purim, Passover: Israeli wines to celebrate victory, freedom - opinion

A guide to superb Israeli wines for Purim and Passover, each of which I have been privileged to taste recently.

Purim: Giving to the poor is the most important act - opinion

While this is true every Purim, it is more necessitated this year due to the coronavirus crisis.

By DAVID FINE , AVROHOM LEVENTHAL
25/02/2021

My Word: The black-and-blue sea

This spill should serve as a wake-up call also about the potential hazards to the delicate environment of the Red Sea and the coral reefs.

Purim: The first attempted Holocaust - opinion

For the Jewish people, Purim is the day of the salvation of the Jews of Persia.

By MOSHE LEBEL
25/02/2021

Remembering Manfred Gerstenfeld - Jewish renaissance man

In the past two decades, Gerstenfeld became a leading expert on antisemitism – particularly the European resurgence, and warning of the “new” manifestations such as the BDS movement.

By GERALD M. STEINBERG
25/02/2021
YEMENITE JEWS near their tents in Israel in 1949.

Israel still must apologize for the Yemenite Children's Affair

Although the decision to compensate the families is a commendable one, it does not go far enough in acknowledging the government’s culpability.

The arbitrary, dangerous practices of Israel's rabbinical courts - opinion

Women need a safe and clear exit strategy from a broken marriage; whether abusive or not.

By JUDITH GARSON DJEMAL
24/02/2021
Israelis Hadar Goldin, Oron Shaul, Avera Mengistu and Hisham Al-Sayed being held by Hamas in Gaza

'Squeezing' Hamas will not bring captive Israelis home - opinion

The “squeeze Hamas policy” of the past 13 and half years has not worked at all. Perhaps it is time to try something new.

Depressed person broods in tunnel

Is children's mental health the next national disaster? - opinion

The social and emotional well-being of our children is in great danger, and as a country, we need to do something about it.

24/02/2021

Lack of transparency about oil spill endangers public health - opinion

It’s crucial that the government provides adequate access to research data

By JANNE L. HOOGERVORST
24/02/2021
International Criminal Court, The Hague

ICC investigating Israel for war crimes means US could be next - opinion

In choosing to prosecute Israel, the United States no longer has any guarantee that it can escape the grasp of the ICC’s grip.

By YARON BUSKILA
24/02/2021

Celebrating a coronavirus-inspired Purim - opinion

How best to enjoy the traditions as well as fulfill the commandments associated with Purim in this plague-filled year.

By BARRY NEWMAN
24/02/2021

Losing privacy: Has the media crossed the line with Ted Cruz? - opinion

Allowing this kind of intrusion into our personal lives without our permission is a clear manifestation of George Orwell’s predictions in his novel '1984.'

McConnell, Garland: The unintended consequences of new positions - opinion

Trump wants revenge, but McConnell may get the last laugh and Judge Garland may be the one to deliver it.

Artificial intelligence

Start-up uses AI to help marketers plan next moves as industry booms

Before COVID, people were choosing to “detox” from social media to help their mental and physical health, but in the last year, 346 million new users came online.

Why is KKL-JNF's plan to buy Palestinian land in West Bank controversial?

The executive committee of KKL-JNF has the right to approve the purchase of private Palestinian land in Area C, which comprises parts of the West Bank controlled by Israel.

Purim: Differentiating right from wrong in politics - opinion

It should not be so difficult to abhor Trump’s anti-democratic demagoguery yet applaud his toughness toward Iran.

23/02/2021

Jewish unity: Purim's long-lost message - opinion

This story could have ended in tragedy but because of the unity over self-defense, it did not.

By JOSHUA GOLDSTEIN
23/02/2021

Netanyahu's embrace of Rush Limbaugh is 'unsettling' - opinion

Defending against terrorism and fighting the calls for the destruction of the West from outside elements loudly contrast with the acceptance of caustic elements from within.

By DANIEL S. GROSS
23/02/2021
Bank Hapoalim

Coronavirus: When in-person contact is necessary for business

How to cope with the financial crisis and emerge from it even stronger.

By DUDU LEVY REICH
23/02/2021

Coronavirus: Israel should give Iran vaccines - opinion

The 'Cyrus Mercy Mission' would mean putting hostilities aside to cooperate during this mutual health crisis.

By VICTORIA COATES , LEN KHODORKOVSKY
23/02/2021

'We do not need to elect a messiah' - opinion

For God’s sake, Israelis deserve a government, let alone a better one.

By DAVID RAAB
23/02/2021
Comedians Michael Che and Colin Jost from the NBC series "Saturday Night Live: Weekend Update"

Response to Michael Che's SNL joke is unreasonable

If everything is antisemitic, then nothing is, so the appellation must be used sparingly.

Europe must unite against Hezbollah - opinion

For Hezbollah, mainland Europe has proven to be a serene staging ground for future bloodshed.

By TSVETAN TSVETANOV
22/02/2021

Coronavirus: Celebrating Purim in an upside-down world - opinion

We may not imbibe as much wine this year, but we may finally imbibe the true meaning of Purim.

By SHIMSHON HAKOHEN NADEL
22/02/2021

SNL’s Michael Che is not an antisemite - opinion

How can we have failed to inform mainstream African-American personalities like Michael Che of these truths about Israel?

OVERVIEW OF the Human Rights Council at the UNHRC

Can the US under Biden change the UNHRC? - opinion

Only a superpower like the United States can initiate change within the body.

By ITZHAK LEVANON
22/02/2021

Will Riyadh, Manama be Iran's next targets? - opinion

Iran is more patient than the West, willing to wait years for the right opportunity to pounce, and American policy-makers underestimate this desire to export its revolutionary message.

The IOC must act against human rights violations - opinion

It is respectable that the IOC does what they can to keep politics out of sport. Yet there are limits, and the situations in China and Iran are most certainly beyond politics.

Why Blue and White is the logical choice for Anglo voters

Benny Gantz was personally involved in all of our lives.

22/02/2021
A STILL IMAGE from ‘6480 Days’ by Ran Slavin.

Post-lockdown cultural ‘Transmission’

New Kibbutzim College Art Gallery exhibition in TA opens on Tuesday

THAMAR EILAM GINDIN: This is why the Rabbis decided to include the Book of Esther in the Thora

Behind the Book of Esther’s mask - A Purim story

Persian scholar explains how Purim was shaped by Near Eastern myths

On the fringes of ultra-Orthodox society

Government agencies have not geared up to effectively address the phenomenon of marginalized ultra-Orthodox youth, which carries with it the risk of more serious problems.

21/02/2021

Israel needs to be struck by ecological disaster to take action

President Reuven Rivlin, who also thanked the volunteers, said: “Now is the time for an urgent national plan before we face an unprecedented ecological disaster.”

Trump’s second acquittal from impeachment - Democracy or hypocrisy?

Can the 43 Republican senators who voted for acquittal be accused of hypocrisy, and do they pose a threat to democracy in the US?

Government transparency is crucial in a democracy - comment

In a democracy, the people are the sovereign power and they have the right to know what decisions their government is making.

Daniel Wise blowing shofar in Qatar

It’s the dawn of a new era for Jewish life in the Gulf - opinion

For those of us in Bahrain, this marks an important milestone as we will now have access to a rabbi who can come to Bahrain to officiate at Jewish life cycle events.

By HOUDA NONOO , ALEX PETERFREUND
20/02/2021

Dubai: The sheikh and his daughters - comment

The Sheikh has 25 children by his six wives, so he obviously loves children, but unaccountably his daughters keep trying to escape.

By GWYNNE DYER
20/02/2021

What is the right attitude for working in the UAE?

UAE’s work environment is defined as multicultural since only a small percentage of the workforce is local.

American and Israeli Jews [Illustrative]

What kind of Jew are you? - comment

We need new categories that faithfully reflect the way American Jewish life is actually lived.

By STEPHEN J. SAVITSKY
20/02/2021
Ultra orthodox Jews

Remaining apolitical is like dancing at Orthodox wedding - opinion

Mostly that’s a good thing. We didn’t always enjoy freedom of speech as a people and perhaps now we’re making up for lost time.

By ANDY GOLDSMITH
20/02/2021
From left to right: Rep. Ayanna Pressley, Rep. Ilhan Omar, President Donald Trump, Rep. Alexandria O

The toll of democratic regression on Israel - opinion

A-liberal leaders and political parties have tightened their hold on power over the past two decades in many countries, Israel included.

By EYAL RONEN , ROEE KIBRIK
20/02/2021

The real message Netanyahu should take from Biden's phone call

On the surface, the phone call was not really that important.

18/02/2021

Welcome to UAE's ambassador to Israel

The exchange of diplomats is an important step in the right direction.

Calculating taxes

Investment: If you get letter that US broker is closing account

It is the most wonderful feeling in the world, knowing you are loved and wanted. –Jayne Mansfield

By AARON KATSMAN
18/02/2021

Hillel's Tech Corner: accessiBe: The web made accessible

Web accessibility is both a legal requirement and a moral obligation for companies with online presence.

18/02/2021
Calculating taxes

OECD discusses: Will COVID-19 change your tax status?

This updates earlier OECD comments in April 2020, when we all thought the pandemic would soon disappear

By LEON HARRIS
18/02/2021

How did Zionist symbol KKL-JNF become an organization that hurts Israel?

We need to break this cycle, for the sake of Israel and our relationships with our friends and partners around the world.

18/02/2021

The Biden administration’s moral compass on Israel - opinion

In the new administration’s view, building kindergartens for Jewish children in Judea is just as big of a peace deterrent as the Palestinian Authority’s “Pay for Slay” program.

18/02/2021

Israel Elections: Michaeli the only true opposition to Netanyahu - opinion

I’m much more optimistic than others who only foresee a bleak future.

18/02/2021

Mourning the loss of Israel's last pioneers - opinion

The three took part in the work of settling and building the country, laying the foundations and pillars upon which Israeli society was built.

Coronavirus: Having a happy, but muted, Purim - opinion

I think we will defeat COVID-19. But I think it is premature to believe that we have already beaten the beast.

By MICAH D. HALPERN
18/02/2021

Remembering Moshko, builder of Israel - opinion

Moshe ‘Moshko’ Moskowitz lived to see many of his far-reaching plans fulfilled

My Word: The Middle East muddles on

The world is a very different place today than it was when Biden started his bid for the US presidency and when Netanyahu failed to create a viable government coalition in April 2019.

A BRILLIANT future: Purim masks on sale at Jerusalem’s Mahaneh Yehuda marke

Coronavirus: Masking the message of Purim - opinion

“If someone had said two months ago that in [such a] situation we would open the economy, I would have called [him] crazy.”

18/02/2021
Iranian President Hassan Rouhani speaks during the cabinet meeting in Tehran, Iran, March 4, 2020

Will Iran's 'step-by-step' strategy succeed with Biden? - opinion

The reality is that the mullahs are not able to read the signals of the new US administration. They continue to deal with President Biden as an extension of former president Barack Obama.

By SALEM ALKETBI
17/02/2021
Load more
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use