Habayit Hayehudi votes for party's Knesset list

Habayit Hayehudi voters took to the polls on Tuesday for the second time in as many weeks, in order to elect the party's list for the next Knesset.
The party's nearly 54,000 members will be able to vote in 168 polling places throughout the country. Habayit Hayehudi voters will rank five candidates in order of preference, out of the 14 that are running, from 3-10 p.m. Tuesday.
Primary results are expected to be available on Wednesday.
Some of the better-known candidates include MK Uri Orbach and former NRP MKs Nissan Slomianski and Gila Finkelstein. In addition, two founders of Internet hasbara organizations – Ayelet Shaked of "My Israel" and Atlanta native Jeremy Gimpel of – are running for seats on the Habayit Hayehudi list, as is Beersheba Deputy Mayor Avi Wertzman.
Earlier this week, five primary candidates – Orbach, Finkelstein, Wertzman, Doron Danino and Shuli Mualem – sued the party in the Tel Aviv District Court to repeal a Habayit Hayehudi court decision to keep the fifth spot for candidates under 40 even if a woman who fits that criteria is elected in the fourth spot, which is saved for female candidates.
Shaked is the only female under 40 in the primary. She is running for the fourth spot, against Finkelstein and Mualem.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy