About me: Jeremy Dery

Jeremy Dery 224 (photo credit: )
Jeremy Dery 224
(photo credit: )
TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Age: 20 Residence: Livingston, NJ, USA Married? With children? Single Occupation: Student Education: Drew University Pets: 1 cat- Gus Religious affiliation / observance: Jewish / Conservadox Last person / party I voted for: John Kerry Next person / party I will vote for: N/A My history (100 words max): I am half Moroccan and American. I am Jewish and am very proud of it. I lived half of my life in France and speak fluent French; I can understand a little bit Spanish and Italian and i can read and speak a little Hebrew and Arabic. I love listening to Arabic and Israeli music. In college I am majoring in Political Science with a double minor in Jewish studies and Middle East Studies. Additionally, I'm interested in psychology and sociology and i like learning about different religions around the world. I enjoy watching movies, especially international films. I like to travel and enjoy learning and seeing new places especially the Middle East. Also, i am the new co president of the Hillel organization at Drew University Family history (100 words max): My father is from Morocco and his father was the head of King Hassan's army. My mother is Ashkenazi from Russia, Turkey, and Romania. I have a younger brother named Jonathan and a younger sister named Emily My connection with Israel: I would like to work with the Israeli government and do my best with my diverse background to bring peace to the region. I will be studying at Tel Aviv university and hopefully one day I can get a citizenship. I Always read The Jerusalem Post to find out what is going on in the Jewish homeland. I am also a member of the David Project which is an organization to promote Israel awareness on college campuses. I love to watch Israeli movies such as Walk on Water and i love listening to Israeli music such as singers Maya Buskila, Kobi Peretz, and Eyal Golan What I would take with me to a deserted island: I would take my video games, my cat, my laptop and all of my Israeli and Arabic music cd's along with my prayer book and my tallit Which feminine/masculine trait would I like to have: I wish i were more muscular What angers you: I get very angry when I hear, see, or read about anti-semitism and anti- zionism. Currently, I have problems with the administration at Drew University over their study abroad policy dealing with Israel What makes you happy: Celebrating Jewish holidays, helping Israel in any way that I can, watching James Bond movies and Highlander episodes and movies, and my guilty pleasure is that I love Batman Last book I read was: 'By the Rivers of Babylon' by Nelson Demille - it is about an Israeli rescue team helping to free politicians held captive in Iraq by Palestinian terrorists Comfort food: Couscous, pizza, pasta, and Sushi My life five years from now: I hope to be living in Israel and working as a diplomat for the United Nations on behalf of Israel. Also, i hope to be married to a beautiful Israeli who has the same passion and desire to help the Jewish people and Israel and who loves to travel around the world as i do You may not like it but I have something controversial to say: I think that Jerusalem should belong to the Jews and that there should be two states (Israeli and Palestinian) living peacefully side by side Happiness: 1-10 (10 being the happiest) 8 Click here to leave a message for Jeremy TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Meet all 'About Me' participants