Dominican Republic ratifies global treaty banning nuclear test explosions

The Dominican Republic has ratified the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty, bringing to 140 the number of nations that have done so, the Vienna-based organization that administers the accord said Wednesday. The Caribbean country ratified the treaty - which bans all nuclear explosions - on Tuesday, the Vienna-based Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization said in a statement. The treaty will not enter into force until it has been ratified by all 44 states - listed in an annex - that participated in a 1996 disarmament conference and have nuclear power or research reactors. Only 34 of those countries have ratified the pact, the CTBT said. The holdouts include the United States, China, India, Pakistan, Israel and North Korea.