Malaysia ratifies global treaty banning nuclear test explosions

Malaysia has ratified the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty, the Vienna-based organization that administers the global accord said Friday. The move raises the total number of ratifications worldwide to 143, the Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty Organization said in a statement. The treaty, which bans all nuclear explosions, will not enter into force until it has been ratified by 44 states - listed in an annex - that participated in a 1996 disarmament conference and had nuclear power or research reactors at the time. Thirty-four of those countries have ratified the pact, including Britain, France and Russia, all of which have nuclear weapons, the treaty organization said. The holdouts include the United States, China, India, Pakistan, Israel and North Korea.