Ajami fails to win Oscar

Argentina's 'El Secreto de Sus Ojos' wins award for best foreign language film.

March 8, 2010 07:30
1 minute read.
A shot from 'Ajami'

ajami 311. (photo credit: Courtesy)

Ajami failed to win Israel its first Oscar on Monday night, with Argentina's El Secreto de Sus Ojos winning the award for best foreign language film.

The film pulled off a surprise win for foreign-language film over high-profile entries that included Germany's The White Ribbon and France's A Prophet.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

The Argentinean thriller is set in the country's main federal courthouse, where an investigator discovers co-workers torturing suspects into false confessions and running death squads for the president.

Will Oscar go to Jaffa?

The characters are fictional, but their world is that of Argentina in the early 1970s, when security forces and leftist guerrillas were attacking each other and setting the stage for the dictatorship.

The Iraq war drama The Hurt Locker won best picture and five other prizes at the Academy Awards, its haul including best director for Kathryn Bigelow.

Bigelow was the first woman in the 82-year history of the Oscars to earn Hollywood's top prize for filmmakers.

Among those Bigelow and The Hurt Locker overcame are ex-husband James Cameron and his sci-fi spectacle Avatar.

First-time winners took all four acting prizes: Sandra Bullock as best actress for The Blind Side; Jeff Bridges as best actor for Crazy Heart; and Austrian Christoph Waltz as supporting actor for Inglourious Basterds.

Standup comedienne Mo'Nique won an acting Oscar for her role as an abusive mother in Precious, becoming the fifth black woman to win the award..

Related Content

Sarah Silverman
August 26, 2014
Jewish women take home gold at 2014 Emmys


Israel Weather
  • 15 - 23
    Beer Sheva
    17 - 21
    Tel Aviv - Yafo
  • 12 - 18
    15 - 21
  • 19 - 27
    16 - 27