Ruderman Foundation seeks final nominations for disability inclusion prize

Five winning organizations and companies to share $250,000 in recognition of their work.

August 2, 2016 01:11
1 minute read.
Tom Harkin

Former US senator Tom Harkin receives an award in Boston this week at the Ruderman Family Foundation’s Inclusion Summit. (photo credit: NOAM GALAI)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

The Ruderman Family Foundation on Monday issued a final call for nominations for its international Ruderman Prize in Inclusion, which awards companies and organizations around the world that operate innovative programs and provide services that foster the full inclusion of people with disabilities.

Five winners each will receive $50,000, both as recognition of their work and as a financial boost to their resources.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

“Although people with disabilities are the largest minority group in the world, making up 20 percent of our population, they are among the most discriminated and segregated populations,” said Jay Ruderman, president of the Ruderman Family Foundation.

The prize, he said, is an attempt to change the injustice.

Nonprofit organizations and companies with an American nonprofit fiscal sponsor, 501(c)3, are eligible for the prize. This is the fifth year the prize will be awarded, and this year the focus is on innovations in the fields of technology, entertainment, art and fashion, media, social businesses and advocacy.

The first stage of the application process will close on August 9.

“Our foundation is constantly exploring new innovative ways to promote the inclusion of people with disabilities in our worldwide society. We strive to highlight the rights of people with disabilities as civil and human rights, and this year’s Prize is dedicated to the entrepreneurial spirit that changes life as we know it and makes us a fairer, more inclusive society,” said Ruderman.

Twenty five organizations worldwide have received the prize over the past five years, including in Russia, the UK, United States, Mexico, Israel, South Africa, Australia, Canada and Argentina. Winners include schools, religious places of worship, a dance company, a university, a bakery and an employment service.

Related Content

The American and the Israeli national flags can be seen outside the U.S Embassy in Tel Aviv, Israel
July 20, 2018
US Jewish groups furious at Jewish Nation-State Law