Acre Festival 2015 winners

The five-member jury included playwright Dani Horowitz and composer Ori Widislavski.

October 6, 2015 20:02
1 minute read.

YOAV BARTAL and Abigail Rubin’s ‘Yabalek.’. (photo credit: YOHAN SEGEV)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

 This year’s Acre Festival ended in a blaze of glory with prizes awarded in 16 categories, full houses for all the plays and some 120,000 people on the streets taking in the free shows on stages and streets in and around the Old City of Acre.

The five-member jury, which included playwright Dani Horowitz and composer Ori Widislavski, awarded Best Play to the multi-disciplinary trilogy on the sources of fear entitled Yabalek by Yoav Bartal and Abigail Rubin, citing among the rest the play’s “theatrical language moving [seamlessly] from one technique to the other...and on the extraordinary dedication of the ensemble....”

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

This prize is NIS 10,000. Yabalek also won the choreography prize for its creators.

The other three major awards went to Itai Doron’s iconoclastic “rapper” satire M.C. Coriolanus, based on Shakespeare’s tragedy, which shows up our own reality via the Roman general Coriolanus who trashes the republic he and his countrymen created.

Doron received Best Director, Ronen Yifrach in the title role got Best Actor and Michal Rubin won Best Actress for her on-the-edge performance as Volumnia, Coriolanus’ mother. Another well-deserved reward went to Nadav Vikinski for the marvelous music accompanying the wrenching Slaughterhouse 5, based on the iconic novel by Kurt Vonnegut.

Outgoing artistic director Gil Alon summed up the three years of his tenure saying happily that this year’s nine competition plays vigorously “kicked at society’s outworn conventions and clichés, and that most of them will continue on after the festival.”

Related Content

TRANSPORTATION MINISTER Israel Katz and Rona Ramon cut the ribbon to inaugurate Eilat’s new airport.
July 17, 2018
First flight lands at Ramon Airport as Eilat seeks to grab more tourists