UN elects new Security Council members; Israel plans to run for 2018-2019

Israel is one of the 67 UN Member States that have never been members of the Security Council.

June 29, 2016 00:59
1 minute read.

THE UNITED Nations General Assembly.. (photo credit: REUTERS)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


NEW YORK – The UN General Assembly has elected Ethiopia, Bolivia, Sweden, and Kazakhstan to be non-permanent members of the UN Security Council for the 2017-2018 term.

Sources familiar with the Security Council election process told the Post that Israel has already submitted its candidacy for the 2018-2019 term within the Western European and Others regional group to which it belongs.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

Israel is one of the 67 UN Member States that have never been members of the Security Council.

Ethiopia, Bolivia and Sweden were elected with a majority of votes in the first round; Kazakhstan, which was competing against Thailand, was given a seat after a second round of votes. A fifth non-permanent member was elected After multiple rounds of inconclusive voting Italy and Netherlands decided to split the seat.

Tuesday’s election aimed to replace Angola, Malaysia, New Zealand, Spain, and Venezuela, which will be vacating their seats at the end of 2016. The five new Security Council members will begin their terms on January 1.

The rest of the current non-permanent members – Egypt, Japan, Senegal, Ukraine and Uruguay – will be replaced at the end of 2017.

The election was particularly joyful for Kazakhstan, which had never been elected to the Security Council, unlike the four other countries chosen. The Kazak representatives cheered and shook hands with other delegation members, who congratulated them as General Assembly President Mogens Lykketoft read out the result.


One of the Kazakh representatives broke out in tears.

The council is composed of 15 Members. Five of them – China, France, Russia, the UK and the US – are permanent, and hold veto power. The 10 remaining members are non-permanent and elected for two-year terms.

These non-permanent seats are allocated by regional groups. The 10 states have to include five African and Asian States; one Eastern European state; two Latin American states; and two from the Western European and Others group. All 193 member states of the United Nations are eligible for the seats, but candidacies are submitted by the regional groups.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

September 23, 2018
Hamas halts cease-fire talks, blames Abbas