Israel Prize winners sign petition for Palestinian state

Seventeen Israel Prize winners are calling for the establishment of an independent Palestinian state along 1967 lines, according to a copy of a petition obtained by AFP on Wednesday.
According to the report, the group plans on signing the petition, along with several dozen other Israeli artists and intellectuals on Thursday in front of Beit Dizengoff in Tel Aviv where the state of Israel was proclaimed on May 14, 1948.
Among those signing the petition are former president of Israel Academy of Sciences Menahem Yaari, founder of the leftist Meretz party Shulamit Aloni and painter and sculptor Danny Karavan. All three were awarded the Israel Prize.