Russia's Putin shifts former ministers to Kremlin

MOSCOW, May 22 (Reuters) - Russian President Vladimir Putin named seven former cabinet ministers to senior Kremlin posts on Tuesday, in a move expected to weaken Russian Prime Minister Dmitry Medvedev's new government and shift power to the presidential administration.
Putin, in a decree issued a day after the government was formed, also confirmed Sergei Ivanov as his chief of staff while long-time ally Nikolai Patrushev stays on as secretary of the presidential Security Council.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy