About Me: Anita Hasson

anita hasson (photo credit: )
anita hasson
(photo credit: )
TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Age: 50 Residence: Hod Hasharon, Israel Married? With children? Divorced, 3 kids aged 27,24 and 18 Occupation: Coursebook writer Education: MA Pets: Cat and a cockateil Religious affiliation / observance: Jewish / Secular Last person / party I voted for: Likud My history (100 words max): I made aliya from Australia with my parents in 1974 - kicking and screaming all the way - but now feel totally at home here! Family history (100 words max): My mother's family come from the Ukraine and immigrated to Australia at the beginning of the 20th century. My father and his family are Romanian - who left Romania after the second World War- some coming to Israel, others to Australia (like him) and to other parts of the world My connection with Israel: I have always been connected to Israel. As a teenager- I went to a Jewish dayschool and to Habonim and knew quite a lot of hebrew when I arrived Defining moment: Seeing my three children join the army. Coordinating a Holocaust trip to Poland with my school when I was a teacher. Also being on a small settlement and watching it develop Daily routine: 6:45 get up 8:30 writing at work till 17:00 18:00-24:00 socialising, seeing kids, reading, gym etc... 0:30 bedtime On Friday night, I... have a kiddush and a family meal usually with my one, two or all my kids and sometimes parents, brother and family (I am divorced - so it isn't every week) Last book I read was: When I Was Gone - by Sue Miller Comfort food: Stir fried mushrooms My mentor: My parents who have been attentive and supportive always... My best friend- Wendy - who is amazing! 3 wishes: 1. A more harmonious existence for Israel 2. A life of fulfillment and happiness for my three children 3. A comfortable and worry free old age for my parents Happiness: 1-10 (10 being the happiest) 9 TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Meet IDF combat soldier Nicole and all 'About Me' participants