About me: Lenard A. Footland

martin 298 (photo credit: )
martin 298
(photo credit: )
TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Age: 64 Residence: Arlington, Virginia, USA Married? With children? Married to Loretta for 38 years with three grown and very successful children Occupation: Patent Examiner Education: Physics, Political Science and law Pets: None. I love dogs but don't like to walk them Religious affiliation / observance: Reform Judaism, not very observant Last person / party I voted for: Bush; Republican Next person / party I will vote for: If I vote, whoever the Republicans nominate My history (100 words max): My father and mother's parents all came from Norway and my wife's family is Russian Jewish, so we are [gasp!] that most despicable of life forms, an intermarried couple! Family history (100 words max): Believe it or not, there is a very detailed genealogy that makes me a descendant of King David, through Mariamne the Hasdemonean's Persian and then European royal descendants. Less controversially, I am a descendant of Gorm the Old of Denmark, St. Olav of Norway, Rurik of Russia, Charlemagne, William the Conqueror, and a bunch of Vikings and other rulers, a number of whom ruled Israel under the Byzantines and Crusader States My connection with Israel: Like I said On Friday night, I... eat dinner out and collapse on the sofa What I would take with me to a deserted island: 70 virgins and some good books Last book I read was: The Coming Singularity" by Kurzweiler Comfort food: Utz peanut-oil kettle-cooked potato chips My life five years from now: I'll be younger Happiness: 1-10 (10 being the happiest) 5 TRY ONE YOURSELF>>> Meet all 'About Me' participants