Winners of the Jerusalem Film Festival

'Sharqiya,' which tells the story of a Beduin man and his family whose home is slated to be demolished, wins the Haggiag Award.

July 15, 2012 21:21
1 minute read.

Entertainment. (photo credit: REUTERS)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user uxperience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew, Ivrit
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Repor
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief

UPGRADE YOUR JPOST EXPERIENCE FOR 5$ PER MONTH Show me later Don't show it again

Sharqiya, the final Israeli feature film shown in competition at the 29th Jerusalem Film Festival, which concluded on Saturday, ended up winning the Haggiag Award. Directed by Ami Livne, it tells the story of a Beduin man and his family whose home is slated to be demolished. Sharqiya’s director will receive an award of NIS 100,000.

Dana Goldberg’s Alice, about a troubled nurse who works with juvenile delinquents, won an honorable mention. Alice also won the Gottlieb Award for Best Screenplay.

Be the first to know - Join our Facebook page.

The Haggiag Award for Best Actress was awarded jointly to Rivka Gur for her role in Epilogue and to Ilanit Ben-Yaakov for her performance in Alice. The Haggiag Award for Best Actor went to Yosef Carmon for Epilogue.

The Pirchi Family Award in Memory of Anat Pirchi for Best First or Second Israeli Feature was awarded to director Meni Yaesh, for the film God’s Neighbors, about a newly religious man who uses violence to try to make his community more religious. Roy Assaf, the star, won a special mention in the Best Actor category.

The Van Leer Group Foundation Award for Best Documentary Film was awarded to directors Emad Burnat and Guy Davidi for Five Broken Cameras, about a Palestinian who documents his life.

Ran Tal won the Best Director of a Documentary Award for The Garden of Eden, a portrait of a national park.

The In the Spirit Award in Memory of Wim van Leer went to Here and There, a feature film about rural life in Mexico. The Ostrovsky Family Foundation Award went to the documentary The Tiniest Place, from El Salvador.

The Lia Award, presented by the Joan Sourasky-Constantiner Holocaust Multimedia Research Center of the Jerusalem Cinematheque, went to Papirosen.

Related Content

Sarah Silverman
August 26, 2014
Jewish women take home gold at 2014 Emmys