Germany agrees to $19 m. in new funds for Eastern survivors

July 13, 2011 17:13
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


NEW YORK -- Germany has agreed to expand a pool of victims of the Nazis eligible for one-time payments of about $2,660 to those who never left Eastern Europe, the Claims Conference announced.

Until now, only those who fled the Nazis as they moved east through Germany but later settled in the West were eligible for these payments from a fund called the Hardship Fund. The expansion of the pool will cover approximately 7,000 additional people who fled the Nazis but then settled behind the Iron Curtain, the Claims Conference estimated.

In all, the payments are expected to amount to about $19 million. Only those who are now residing in one of the 10 European Union countries that used to be part of the Soviet bloc will be eligible. The announcement came during the annual board meetings of the Claims Conference, which negotiated with Germany for the change.

“This is a first step towards attaining recognition for those Nazi victims whose experiences have not been acknowledged," said Claims Conference Chairman Julius Berman. "These are victims of Nazism and communism, who at the end of their lives are finally obtaining symbolic recognition of their persecution."

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Breaking news
November 20, 2018
U.S. judge temporarily blocks Trump asylum restrictions