Habayit Hayehudi votes for party's Knesset list

November 13, 2012 13:30
1 minute read.


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analyses from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Habayit Hayehudi voters took to the polls on Tuesday for the second time in as many weeks, in order to elect the party's list for the next Knesset.

The party's nearly 54,000 members will be able to vote in 168 polling places throughout the country. Habayit Hayehudi voters will rank five candidates in order of preference, out of the 14 that are running, from 3-10 p.m. Tuesday.

Primary results are expected to be available on Wednesday.

Some of the better-known candidates include MK Uri Orbach and former NRP MKs Nissan Slomianski and Gila Finkelstein. In addition, two founders of Internet hasbara organizations – Ayelet Shaked of "My Israel" and Atlanta native Jeremy Gimpel of TheLandofIsrael.com – are running for seats on the Habayit Hayehudi list, as is Beersheba Deputy Mayor Avi Wertzman.

Earlier this week, five primary candidates – Orbach, Finkelstein, Wertzman, Doron Danino and Shuli Mualem – sued the party in the Tel Aviv District Court to repeal a Habayit Hayehudi court decision to keep the fifth spot for candidates under 40 even if a woman who fits that criteria is elected in the fourth spot, which is saved for female candidates.

Shaked is the only female under 40 in the primary. She is running for the fourth spot, against Finkelstein and Mualem.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Breaking news
October 19, 2018
Trump threatens to send in military to shut down U.S. border to Mexico