Photo gallery: Images of 70 years of the Israeli parliament

The modern Knesset complex, located in western Jerusalem in Givat Ram, was gifted to Israel by James de Rothschild in his will.

January 21, 2019 05:34
Photo album

Photo album. (photo credit: KNESSET)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


The first Knesset was formed following the elections in 1949, replacing the Provisional State Council which had served Israel since it gained independence on May 14, 1948. The current Knesset (elected in 2015) is Israel's Twentieth Knesset.

The modern Knesset complex, located in western Jerusalem in Givat Ram, was gifted to Israel by James de Rothschild in his will. The main building was constructed in 1966 on land leased from the Greek Orthodox Patriarchate of Jerusalem.

There have been twelve people who served as prime ministers of Israel since its founding in 1948.

1. David Ben-Gurion
2. Moshe Sharett
1. David Ben-Gurion
3. Levi Eshkol
    Yigal Allon (acting)
4. Golda Meir
5. Yitzhak Rabin
6.  Menachem Begin
7.  Yitzhak Shamir
8.  Shimon Peres
7.  Yitzhak Shamir
5.  Yitzhak Rabin
8.  Shimon Peres
9.  Benjamin Netanyahu
10.Ehud Barak
11. Ariel Sharon
12. Ehud Olmert
9.   Benjamin Netanyahu

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

Ehud Barak speaks at a press conference with his Israel Democratic Party.
July 18, 2019
Centrist, left-wing parties gang up on Ehud Barak


Cookie Settings