Israel’s twelve Nobel laureates

Arieh Warshel and Michael Levitt become the latest in a long line of Israeli Nobel winners.

October 10, 2013 01:52
1 minute read.
2013 NOBEL LAUREATES in chemistry Arieh Warshel celebrates win with wife, October 9, 2013

Arieh Warshel celebrates Nobel Prize win 370. (photo credit: REUTERS)

The Nobel Prize Committees have honored 11 Israelis since Shmuel Yosef Agnon became the first blue-and-white laureate in 1966:

1 and 2. Arieh Warshel and Michael Levitt — awarded the 2013 Nobel Prize in Chemistry jointly with Martin Karplus.

3. Dan Shechtman – won the 2011 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his studies on atoms in rigid crystals.

4. Ada E. Yonath – won the 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for her studies on the structure and function of the ribosome in cells.

5. Robert Yisrael Aumann – awarded the 2005 Nobel Prize in Economics for his work on conflict and cooperation through game-theory analysis.

6 and 7. Aaron Ciechanover and Avram Hershko – awarded the 2004 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for their discovery with Irwin Rose of ubiquitin-mediated protein degradation.

8. Daniel Kahneman – awarded the 2002 Nobel Prize in Economics for his work in prospect theory.

9 and 10. Yitzhak Rabin and Shimon Peres – won the 1994 Nobel Peace Prize together with Yasser Arafat for the peace talks that produced the Oslo Accords.

11. Menachem Begin – awarded the 1979 Nobel Peace Prize with Anwar Sadat for signing a peace treaty with Egypt.

12. Shmuel Yosef Agnon – awarded the 1966 Nobel Prize in Literature for his “profoundly characteristic narrative art with motifs from the life of the Jewish people,” as the Nobel Prize Committee put it.

Related Content

August 31, 2014
Rioting resumes throughout east Jerusalem Saturday night


Cookie Settings