Piron extends compulsory education law

Law to include 84 municipalities to the 92 already functioning under the law; Education ministry to open 6 new professional schools.

August 27, 2013 17:30
1 minute read.
Education Minister Shai Piron at the weekly cabinet meeting, August 25, 2013.

Shai Piron at the weekly cabinet meeting 370. (photo credit: Mark Neiman/GPO)


Dear Reader,
As you can imagine, more people are reading The Jerusalem Post than ever before. Nevertheless, traditional business models are no longer sustainable and high-quality publications, like ours, are being forced to look for new ways to keep going. Unlike many other news organizations, we have not put up a paywall. We want to keep our journalism open and accessible and be able to keep providing you with news and analysis from the frontlines of Israel, the Middle East and the Jewish World.

As one of our loyal readers, we ask you to be our partner.

For $5 a month you will receive access to the following:

  • A user experience almost completely free of ads
  • Access to our Premium Section
  • Content from the award-winning Jerusalem Report and our monthly magazine to learn Hebrew - Ivrit
  • A brand new ePaper featuring the daily newspaper as it appears in print in Israel

Help us grow and continue telling Israel’s story to the world.

Thank you,

Ronit Hasin-Hochman, CEO, Jerusalem Post Group
Yaakov Katz, Editor-in-Chief


Education Minister Shai Piron announced this week his decision to extend compulsory education law to an additional 84 communities in the country, as the 2013-2014 school year begun.

Currently about 75% of secondary schools in Israel are subject to compulsory education law, which applies to children in Israel including 11th and 12th grade students.

Piron’s move, which was approved by the Knesset Education Committee on Monday, came as part of the minister’s efforts to prevent dropouts from the education system.

Earlier this year, Piron stated his intention of re-introducing professional and technological education tracks, which had been removed from the system, in order to provide solutions for a larger number of students in the country. Accordingly, the ministry will open six new professional schools this year.

Among the additional 84 municipalities are Herzliya, Tel Aviv, Kfar Saba  Modi’in, Ma’ale Adumim, Yavne, Mitzpe Ramon, Karmiel, Kiryiat Tivon, Kyriat Shmona, Rishon Letzion and Ramat Gan, among others.

The new cities will join another 92 which are already functioning under the compulsory education law.

Schools in the concerned communities are not allowed to expel students but are instead required to find an alternative institution where the student can complete his 12 years of schooling.

The Ministry also said that following the step, by the 2014-2015 school year, all municipalities in Israel should be included in the program.

Join Jerusalem Post Premium Plus now for just $5 and upgrade your experience with an ads-free website and exclusive content. Click here>>

Related Content

August 31, 2014
Rioting resumes throughout east Jerusalem Saturday night