New coalition leaves opposition with no one on Judicial Selection panel

The opposition may be left without a representative in the Judicial Selection Committee at a pivotal time, after Yisrael Beytenu joins the coalition.
Between now and the end of 2017, four Supreme Court justices will reach retirement age, including court President Miriam Naor, giving the current committee unique influence.
The Knesset’s two representatives to the committee are MK Nurit Koren (Likud), from the coalition, and MK Robert Ilatov (Yisrael Beytenu), of the opposition when he was voted in, but soon will be part of the coalition, as well.
Since 1992, the custom has been for the Knesset to select one representative from the coalition and one from the opposition to serve on the Judicial Selection Committee, but this is not a requirement under law.
In fact, when the Knesset voted on the members last year, some in the narrow 61-seat coalition were concerned that two opposition representatives would end up being voted in.
Justice Minister Ayelet Shaked said Wednesday that she saw no reason for Ilatov to leave the committee.
Subscribe for our daily newsletter
Subscribe for our daily newsletter

By subscribing I accept the terms of use and privacy policy