Eight municipality heads elected in second round of voting

New heads were elected in eight municipalities that have went into a second round after the first round of municipal elections did not produce a winner with a large enough percentage of the vote to take office. In Rehovot Shuki Forer became mayor; in Ashkelon, Benny Vaknin; in Kiryat Ono Yossef Nishri was elected. Tzvi Gov-Ari became mayor of Yavneh and Ilan Shohat won the race in Safed. Nissim Malka won in Kiryat Shmona, while Nahed Khazem became mayor of Shfaram and Faiz Abu Zahban became head of the Rahat municipality. The overall voting percentage was 56; in the Arab sector more than 80% turned up to vote, while in Jewish municipalities approximately 45% cast their ballots.